Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by Votos@Jul 19 2005, 05:58 PM

why don't you guys repair you bikes in JB ?

their workmanship is not as bad as some might say.

While JB servicing is cheap (Yes, I do some of my repairs there as well), sometimes it boils down to the individual. I would rather pay a little more for certain jobs to be done here because of convenience & peace of mind. For example, you paid $10 less to wash/tune a carb in JB. After the job, you went back to Sillypore and found that it's not as good as you want it to be (Or as good as it originally was). What do you do? Going back immediately means you have wasted more petrol & time. Going back at a later point of time, apart from time/petrol, means you run a risk of the bike shop denying all charges as well and start taichi-ing to all the wrong reasons. Do you really save $10 in this scenario? What about the time wasted? There's no right or wrong answer here but it's obvious for me, who I'll choose to earn my $$$.

Another classic example (Real life). Friend calls me up on the phone (2pm) and asks me where the best deal to change fork seal, fork oil bla bla bla.. gave him some names. After asking he decides to go JB (At 4pm) because Malaysia may be cheaper. Fair enough. Next day, very happily he called me in the afternoon, telling me he saved $25, but he had to endure a long queue at the bike shop, tolerate a sulking girlfriend (Mind you, this was at Ah Gua lane where no shopping centres are nearby. There is no way a gal can be happy waiting there with you even though she says she's OK). They finished his bike at about 1am+ and reached Sillypore at 2am+. $25 was a good & happy saving to him, but to me, arrrrr.... I'd be happier doing it in Singapore for $25 more but finish the bike before 5pm! Again, no right or wrong answers, just different views.

DIY!

cheap, good, and can be done anytime u want..

own time own target..

Learn to understand your bike and how it werks..

It's like learning the process of puberty all over again..

Might think of it as a hassle..

But think of the long run..

It can save u a lot incur on labour, surcharges and such..

Some people measure their adventures in miles or days. I prefer "lamp posts".

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jul 19 2005, 01:45 PM

Can't really tell about the condition from the pictures except that it's quite well polished. However 2 points to note:-

(1) Absence of airbox and AIRFILTER!!!! Dust, dirt & grime is the enemy of all engines...

(2) I would check for the alignment of this particular bike particularly the right side, just to be safe.

Wah, at first sight, I thought it's a very nicely maintained bike. Clean and the exhaust isn't rusty. I still don't see the missing airbox though. Man, I suck. :faint:

Originally posted by Shockard@Jul 19 2005, 08:16 PM

Wah, at first sight, I thought it's a very nicely maintained bike. Clean and the exhaust isn't rusty. I still don't see the missing airbox though. Man, I suck. :faint:

haha.. im worse! i dont even noe how the air box looks like!!?! :cheeky:

Originally posted by Ti-C@Jul 19 2005, 08:20 PM

haha.. im worse! i dont even noe how the air box looks like!!?! :cheeky:

its the black box on the right side above the engine. my bike's airbox has been removed and changed to juz an air filter. done by the previous owner.

Feb '05 - Nov '06 ---> KRR150RR (FS7177Z)

Nov '06 - Feb '07 ---> CBR400RRR (FM3727C)

Mar '07 - Nov '14 ---> CB400SI (FT1733K)

Nov '14 - Now ---> NC750X (F******K)

Ride or Die!!!

Originally posted by Ti-C@Jul 19 2005, 01:30 PM

private agreement-downloaded from SBF?? care to explain further? and btw, he is the sub rider. his dad is the owner? how? is it possible to transfer owner? he's askin for $800 with $126x16mths.. ur take on this?

his post.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/classifieds/...hp?siteid=14220

FYI ..something like this

Sales and Purchase Agreement – Option to purchase through Hire Purchase

Date: ___________

I ________________________________ (name of seller), ______________ (NRIC of

Seller) of ________________________________________________________________________

_______ (address of seller)

Received from __________________________________ (name of buyer),

________________ (NRIC of buyer), of_______________________________________

___________________ (address of buyer).

Price agreed

(SGD)___________________________________________ ($)____________________

Deposit

Balance due

To buy

Make and Model:

License Plate Number:

Engine Capacity:

Registered on (dd/mm/yyyy)

Engine number: *

Chassis number: *

Number of transfer:

COE expiry date: (dd/mm/yyyy)

Date of Agreement made: ______________________ (dd/mm/yyyy)

The balance will be paid over ____ months with a monthly amount of $______________.

Signature of Seller: _________________ NRIC: ______________________

Signature of Buyer: _________________ NRIC: ______________________

Important notice: This is a legal binding document.

In case of any breach of this agreement by either the buyer of the seller, the party who breaches this agreement shall pay the deposit in favor to the other party. The vehicle ownership would be transferred and returned to the seller if the buyer refuses to pay and breach the agreement. The seller should hand over the vehicle, vehicle log card*, all vehicle keys(including duplicates) and the vehicle’s operation manual to the buyer. Upon completion of this form, the buyer shall own the vehicle and should payment of installments are refused, seller may not be responsible for any liabilities. Seller, upon completion of this form, is not eligible to the ownership of the vehicle.

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jul 19 2005, 01:45 PM

Can't really tell about the condition from the pictures except that it's quite well polished. However 2 points to note:-

(1) Absence of airbox and AIRFILTER!!!! Dust, dirt & grime is the enemy of all engines...

(2) I would check for the alignment of this particular bike particularly the right side, just to be safe.

My humble apologies. I was viewing the picture of the bike with my company's PC and it didn't show up as well as my home monitor display. The bike IS EQUIPPED with an airbox afterall.

I must be getting blind....

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by Lass@Jul 20 2005, 08:30 AM

whazz been happening dudes? :smile:

Nothing much. For me, I'm just trying to diss a gal in chatter box about her complaints of her husband's exhaust notes at night. Other than that, not much...

Originally posted by Bukake151@Jul 20 2005, 10:06 AM

Hi guys - just wanna ask what are the drawbacks of leaving the choke on and riding around for a few days, as I forgot to turn it off after starting my bike...

think just u will have to visit shell more often

---------------------------------------------------

FU6068J KRR

FL1135D GSX 400

FW1344J S4 vtec2

SGK858B Savvy

SGX6***R Vios

hey how do u guys deal with rusty exhaust?

use sand paper to take away the rust first?

then use wat kind of spray?? pls recommendation

---------------------------------------------------

FU6068J KRR

FL1135D GSX 400

FW1344J S4 vtec2

SGK858B Savvy

SGX6***R Vios

QUOTE (Bukake151 @ Jul 20 2005, 10:06 AM)

Hi guys - just wanna ask what are the drawbacks of leaving the choke on and riding around for a few days, as I forgot to turn it off after starting my bike...

think just u will have to visit shell more often

- So it will only increase my fuel consumption?

- on taking away rust, someone told me that using aluminium foil and coke is useful for removing exhaust rust...

need help URGENTLY ....

today i pillon a fren .. and his shoe melted on my can(end of pipe) ...

now my can is damn ugly ..

can anyone tell me how to remoce the rubber melted on my can?? :cry: :cry: :help:

Originally posted by patrick1131@Jul 20 2005, 03:43 PM

need help URGENTLY ....

today i pillon a fren .. and his shoe melted on my can(end of pipe) ...

now my can is damn ugly ..

can anyone tell me how to remoce the rubber melted on my can?? :cry: :cry: :help:

This has been discussed many times. Go ride the bike for a good 20 minutes at least to get the end can heated up. Then after parking, use a coin or something that won't scratch your end can and scrape it away.

Guest FireSpitter
Originally posted by Shockard@Jul 20 2005, 04:34 PM

This has been discussed many times. Go ride the bike for a good 20 minutes at least to get the end can heated up. Then after parking, use a coin or something that won't scratch your end can and scrape it away.

Why the trouble? Buy new one lah.... o_O

Originally posted by winner@Jul 17 2005, 05:11 PM

anyone fix voltmeter on their bike??????????/

got

me lor

why? :confused:

Originally posted by rankief@Jul 20 2005, 10:51 AM

hey how do u guys deal with rusty exhaust?

use sand paper to take away the rust first?

then use wat kind of spray?? pls recommendation

normally..lazy me would juz squat down and sand the rusty parts which are visible

then take old newspaper to cover up parts u dont wan the spray paint to get on

after that take hi-temp black spray and go psssst

good to last u another 2-3mths before process need to be repeated

anyway...the hi-temp paint will give off a weird smell for a few times when u ride yr bike after u have sprayed the pipe

IMO any brand of black hi-temp paint is fine...

tried RJ brand as well as this other weird brand bought frm the auntie shop next to LAB before

all abt the same

Originally posted by Shockard@Jul 20 2005, 04:34 PM

hm..how abt chao ta sticker?

have this one been discussed before? :cheeky:

sianz..got one patch of ugly looking chao ta sticker at the part of the end can that joins w/ exhaust stomach

Originally posted by FireSpitter@Jul 20 2005, 05:00 PM

Why the trouble? Buy new one lah.... o_O

Not enough vitamin M. o_O

Originally posted by d0n^+Jul 20 2005, 05:38 PM-->
QUOTE (d0n^ @ Jul 20 2005, 05:38 PM)
hm..how abt chao ta sticker?

have this one been discussed before? :cheeky:

sianz..got one patch of ugly looking chao ta sticker at the part of the end can that joins w/ exhaust stomach [/b]

Refer to this suggestion. :D

Originally posted by d0n^@Jul 20 2005, 05:24 PM

got

me lor

why? :confused:

Isn't that your nitrous meter?

*Gasp* :help:

Originally posted by Shockard@Jul 20 2005, 06:11 PM

Isn't that your nitrous meter?

*Gasp* :help:

lol. dun think his bike will last long on the road if it is.

Feb '05 - Nov '06 ---> KRR150RR (FS7177Z)

Nov '06 - Feb '07 ---> CBR400RRR (FM3727C)

Mar '07 - Nov '14 ---> CB400SI (FT1733K)

Nov '14 - Now ---> NC750X (F******K)

Ride or Die!!!

any idea does the kawasaki agent here in singapore gort sell the mirrors? any one knows how much does it cost and can some kind soul pls list the address for me? keke thanks.