Discrimination against m'cycles/cyclists/

Keynes

Is there discrimination against m'cycles/cyclists in SG  

306 members have voted

1. 1. Is there discrimination against m'cycles/cyclists in SG

the worst thing about a taxi is that they will stop without considering the traffic behind them as long as they can get a customer. they brake they swerve and they jeopardize road users greatly. sorry it's a lil off topic but just ranting :/. there are many kinds of people in this world that can accept ppl's way of thinking or just refusing to accept it. it'll always be there and it's almost difficult to stop it unless you kill them all. i guess if everybody plays their role in keeping the roads safe then its all that matters? cherishing life is more important to me :)

• Replies 220

On not being able to park at certain places - Quite frankly, I'm not willing to pay for parking unless there's absolutely no alternative. So the discrimination doesn't bother me--if they were to allow me to park on their premises for $1, I wouldn't.

On petrol stations - The guys at my neighbourhood Esso are friendly. I don't particularly need them to help me fill up the tank, but if I asked them nicely they probably would.

On people's perceptions - Yeah, sometimes I walk into a restaurant carrying a helmet and people tell me I look like I'm there to work and not to dine. I don't give a ****.

On police discrimination - This is really annoying, especially when you consider the possibility of being penalised for an accident that wasn't your fault. It makes people warier of the police than they should be. People are avoiding the police and hospitals even though they might be seriously injured because they're afraid of getting demerit points. Something needs to change.

While I do agree theres discrimination against motorcyclist, i think most of points aren't really related. Sorry :/

Lazy to post why, believe most of them were already answered at certain older posts.

Anyway one point I'd say why we are discriminated is the definition of "legal users for 1st lane in an expressway",

Apparently some drivers who only have a class 3 registered as an official license likes to give this kinda ridiculous rule that 1st lane is for cars only. When they sees bikes, they will hi-beam you/tailgate you etc etc to chase you out of first lane, or purposely accelerator in all the way to overtake you from the left. Really buan tahan this group of people, and since your 2 wheel, they are 4 wheels you can only try your best to give way to this kind of people. And worse off they post about the happenings cockingly in forums as if they are right expecting majority to side him since there are more drivers than motorcyclists..

And as for those bicycles cyclist, from young, i was taught by my parents not to cycle on road STRICTLY. The reason being, we does not have a license that certified we are clear of all the traffic rules of being a road user. So now after I grew up, sees some white guy swinging his bicycles between the double yellow line and the centre of the last lane at 10km/h, of course just horn him all the way tho im capable of dodging. Pay your road tax before you cycle at least..

Then again they can't ban bicycle cyclist or else alot of bangladesh and china worker will lost their only form of transport for work they can afford, and this group of labour will help us do the rough work we cant handle with the pay.

Edited by guangwei

17 Nov 2011 - April 2013, NSR150 SP

12 June 2013 - 23 Jan 2015, CBR400RRR

23 February 2015 - 29 February 2016, YZF R6 2006

12 March 2016 - 12 May 2017, CBR1000RR05

July 2017 - Jan 2019, YZF R1 2008/CBF150

Aug 2019 - Current SYM Joyride 200

While I do agree theres discrimination against motorcyclist, i think most of points aren't really related. Sorry :/

Lazy to post why, believe most of them were already answered at certain older posts.

Anyway one point I'd say why we are discriminated is the definition of "legal users for 1st lane in an expressway",

Apparently some drivers who only have a class 3 registered as an official license likes to give this kinda ridiculous rule that 1st lane is for cars only. When they sees bikes, they will hi-beam you/tailgate you etc etc to chase you out of first lane, or purposely accelerator in all the way to overtake you from the left. Really buan tahan this group of people, and since your 2 wheel, they are 4 wheels you can only try your best to give way to this kind of people. And worse off they post about the happenings cockingly in forums as if they are right expecting majority to side him since there are more drivers than motorcyclists..

And as for those bicycles cyclist, from young, i was taught by my parents not to cycle on road STRICTLY. The reason being, we does not have a license that certified we are clear of all the traffic rules of being a road user. So now after I grew up, sees some white guy swinging his bicycles between the double yellow line and the centre of the last lane at 10km/h, of course just horn him all the way tho im capable of dodging. Pay your road tax before you cycle at least..

Then again they can't ban bicycle cyclist or else alot of bangladesh and china worker will lost their only form of transport for work they can afford, and this group of labour will help us do the rough work we cant handle with the pay.

Hey, you are discriminating cyclist on the road as well! Bicycles are legal on the road and as a road user you have the responsibility to watch out for them when you drive. Drive slower, give way, that's taught in your driving lessons. Just because they dont have to pay road tax doesnt give you the right to be a road BULLY. How do you feel when you get horned or highbeamed by cocky car drivers when you ride your bike in 1st lane. Same. Cyclist feels this way too. Its his right. Nothing against the law and if they are doing it within the legal limits. eg. cycling properly keeping to the left. you shouldn't be discriminating cyclists just because your parents taught you its dangerous. (there are many cyclist in SBF, I'm just one of them)

Hey and guess what. If you didnt ride your bicycle on the road. Where do you ride them? pavement? dont tell me you push your bicycle all the way 2 kilometer to park connector. Its illegal to ride bicycle on pavement FYI. If you dont want to be discriminated, dont discriminate others first buddy.

Apparently some drivers who only have a class 3 registered as an official license likes to give this kinda ridiculous rule that 1st lane is for cars only. When they sees bikes, they will hi-beam you/tailgate you etc etc to chase you out of first lane, or purposely accelerator in all the way to overtake you from the left.

I encountered several times already, getting worst in recent yrs, things aren't tat bad back in the old days.

After I give way to these kinda drivers, they drive slowly and road hog the lane. When i overtake them, they speed up again. Wonder whats the mentality of drivers nowadays, they drive without considerations and road manners.

Totally reckless drivers.

a personal thought. perhaps the only way to change things is if the son or daughter of any well-known MP rides. i think the rules of the road will be tweaked in our favor as well. like the white-horse cases in army. ;)

sadly for most at that level of affluence, riding is not even a consideration. think about how many of these rich people (and their children) will complain if TP separated class 3 into 3A, 3B and 3.

then many have to wait 3 years before driving a spanking-new ferrari or BMW. by then also probably less reckless behind the wheel.

I encountered several times already, getting worst in recent yrs, things aren't tat bad back in the old days.

After I give way to these kinda drivers, they drive slowly and road hog the lane. When i overtake them, they speed up again. Wonder whats the mentality of drivers nowadays, they drive without considerations and road manners.

Totally reckless drivers.

This happens on your gixxer? You sure?

http://25.media.tumblr.com/tumblr_mdjzwiDME51qb8e9no1_500.jpg

Quite obvious, esp when my neighbour/relatives/parent's friend see me with a helmet on my arm..

They will give a why-you-want-ride-a-bike look?

Quite obvious, esp when my neighbour/relatives/parent's friend see me with a helmet on my arm..

They will give a why-you-want-ride-a-bike look?

true....my neighbour once told me not to buy and ride a bike when i passed my 2b(was still taking 2b at that time) coz its dangerous blah blah.....and he is a taxi driver btw....few weeks later when he saw me under my block, fixing my bike he gave me that *i dont know what to say* kind of look. haizzz :cry:

CLASS 2B - 2012 | CLASS 2A - 2014 | CLASS 2 - 2015

Past & Current Ride -

YAMAHA Y125Z - FBA 5025 S(2012-2016)

YAMAHA FZ16ST - FBK 218 H(2015-2017)

YAMAHA FZ1000S - FX 9676 T(2017-2017)

YAMAHA RXZ 135 - FQ 5622 L(2017-2017)

HONDA NC750X ABS - FBK X2XX E(2017-????)

Yes outright discrimination. When I worked as a pump attendant during my holidays, station manager told me don't bother to offer service to motorcyclist. Then car drivers MUST offer to pump and wipe windshield. KNN

LJ manager. I pump petrol dun need attendant help lo.

i have class 3 and 2b. i passed 2b after 3. on retrospect, 3 is easy to pass. 2b requires skills and good body coordination.

it is not hard to understand why drivers dislike riders. when im riding, i see some riders weaving in and out of the heavy traffic with a pillion makes me sweat for them.

i drive occasionally and sometimes in a jam, i am very wary of riders weaving in and out. riders appear from blindspots and making unpredictable weaving movements can unnerve drivers.

I can drive a car and ride a motorcycle. So, in comparison, I think riding a motorcycle is far more technically challenging than driving a car. So we are WINNERS!

Then again, motorcycles get a number of free parking and cars lose in that.

On the road, we just need to take note on how we position ourselves so that they can see us clearly. I think that will make things better for both sides.

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

Easily said, I can feel the diff when I ride my x1r and my Stx... Totally diff the way drivers treat u....

👦™

http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/Emoticon%20Star%20Wars%20154.gif http://amptrooper.10.forumer.com/images/smiles/amptrooper/AMP.gif

Yes. Drivers treat us like 3rd class on the road. Even though I'm travelling as fast as the car in-front on the 2nd lane. Surely got some kuku driver will wanna overtake me and follow the same speed. Squeeze in and overtake.

He's like telling me he die die also don't wanna be behind a motorcycle.

last year just lost another friend who was hit by a lorry while out cycling. it all boils down to an individual responsibility to other road users. sad to say, i can see or feel such sense of driver responsibility here as comparing to riding/driving in other countries.

you meant u cant see or you can?

Part of the reason is that majority of elite civil servants, public planners, and MPs/Ministers do NOT ride motorcycles. As such, they turn a blind eye to our needs. Public planners as well as building owners sometimes place bike parking as the least of their priorities with lots that are either non-existent, too small sized, or at some inconvenient corner.

One example is Simei Easpoint which has a very small designated parking for bikes outside the entrance of the carpark .The lots are down a steep slope and if you have heavy bike, it is impossible to reverse your bike out. There are also 4 lots underneath a sloping roof that if you were to ride straight into the lot, you will knock your head against the roof!!!

These elites who do not ride bikes also seem to view motorcyclists as low-class nuisance and gangsters. Thus they do not welcome us in places like Sentosa, RWS, MBS, and other "atas" places.

I am a businessman, owning a SME company. I choose to ride my motorcycle everywhere as it is my passion.

I once booked an entire hotel (sentosa) ballroom for my company event, and as I rode to sentosa I was denied entry. Even when I show them my hotel booking. Come on, I spend money here and you won't let me in? Then I have visited my clients living in Sentosa Cove (and I do see residents' bikes parked there) and once again I was denied entry despite my client calling up the Sentosa staff. I was escorted out of Sentosa.

I often go for business meetings, functions and events at hotels at which there are no bikes allowed. What I do is that I pay full-priced carparking charges - and with that I believe I should be entitled to park my bike in a car lot (since firstly, there are no motorcycle lots and i do not want to be wheel clamped for parking elsewhere... and secondly since I am paying same price as a car) - and guess what, I have CAR OWNERS complaining to security why my bike takes up the car lot.

In summary, whether you have money or not, whether you ride an big or small bike - it makes no difference because in Singapore, motorcycles are being discriminated against.

Note: I am a firm supporter of equal treatment for ALL road users, regardless of what vehicle you drive. And every citizen should be treated with equal dignity.

Time to stage a nation wide protests by bikers. Blockade of Parliament House by bikers? ;)

Part of the reason is that majority of elite civil servants, public planners, and MPs/Ministers do NOT ride motorcycles. As such, they turn a blind eye to our needs. Public planners as well as building owners sometimes place bike parking as the least of their priorities with lots that are either non-existent, too small sized, or at some inconvenient corner.

One example is Simei Easpoint which has a very small designated parking for bikes outside the entrance of the carpark .The lots are down a steep slope and if you have heavy bike, it is impossible to reverse your bike out. There are also 4 lots underneath a sloping roof that if you were to ride straight into the lot, you will knock your head against the roof!!!

These elites who do not ride bikes also seem to view motorcyclists as low-class nuisance and gangsters. Thus they do not welcome us in places like Sentosa, RWS, MBS, and other "atas" places.

I am a businessman, owning a SME company. I choose to ride my motorcycle everywhere as it is my passion.

I once booked an entire hotel (sentosa) ballroom for my company event, and as I rode to sentosa I was denied entry. Even when I show them my hotel booking. Come on, I spend money here and you won't let me in? Then I have visited my clients living in Sentosa Cove (and I do see residents' bikes parked there) and once again I was denied entry despite my client calling up the Sentosa staff. I was escorted out of Sentosa.

I often go for business meetings, functions and events at hotels at which there are no bikes allowed. What I do is that I pay full-priced carparking charges - and with that I believe I should be entitled to park my bike in a car lot (since firstly, there are no motorcycle lots and i do not want to be wheel clamped for parking elsewhere... and secondly since I am paying same price as a car) - and guess what, I have CAR OWNERS complaining to security why my bike takes up the car lot.

In summary, whether you have money or not, whether you ride an big or small bike - it makes no difference because in Singapore, motorcycles are being discriminated against.

Note: I am a firm supporter of equal treatment for ALL road users, regardless of what vehicle you drive. And every citizen should be treated with equal dignity.

Time to stage a nation wide protests by bikers. Blockade of Parliament House by bikers? ;)

Good to have people like u sir. Can't believe they still didn't let u in despite booking a whole room. Maybe threaten to cancel next time.

Ride fast..ride safe..don't crash...

Yea, in Singapore, it' all about money and brands. Just look at the mentality of the majority of people in Singapore.

Cars will always "makan" bikes, and bigger bikes will "makan" smaller bikes, just like food chain.

Everyday on my journey to work, there will be bound to have cars purposely swerving towards the lane divider marking so that we are stopped in our tracks (lanespiltting).

Of course, like all things, there's always 2 sides to everything. No offence but I believed there are pretty significant of speed demons or "zai kia" in this forum that rides as if the road name is their name. Reckless acts like this slowly imprint a stereotype of riders in all road users mind and hence their attitude changed towards us.

Just like the facebook video whereby the motorist abruptly cut in front of the car and got knocked down, regardless whether the driver is speeding or not, the rider is clearly at fault at sudden change of lane. Mirrors, blindspot, signaling? Did he do any?

Accidents like this always bring out a debate between both drivers and riders. On one side, riders said the car was speeding. (Now, as if all of you ride within speed limits =_= ) . Car drivers will say motorist was reckless lane changing. Both sides will want to protect their "group".

Worst of all, even big bikes look down on small bikes. Not all but alot I've met. The moment they realised you ride a smaller bike (upon meeting), they have the duh face and disregard you. Even riders discriminate against each other in terms of size and make, how can you expect the society to look at you otherwise?

Adventure.