Gadget : GPS device on bikes

tt6389

• Replies 2.6k

Do u really need a gps when raining? I think its already dangerous enough to ride in the rain. Now wanna look at gps in the rain while riding? Hrm.

Anyways, is papago a good gps. Marbella gps is confusing. Turning always last min. Usually will miss my turn compare to garmin.

signature

http://www.missuwedding.com

Authorised Garmin resellers may not be necessarily be selling you original Garmin City Navigator NT Maps. According to Garmin website, they do not offer maps in this combination. ie, 6 nations. Or are you talking about 3rd Party map like Rotweiler Maps ?

http://rotweilermaps.com/maps.cfm

MFM maps already cover Singapore, East/West Malaysia, Brunei, Thailand, Cambodia, and Laos, and everyone can download it for free.

there... I was confused :cheeky:.. 6 nations map.. sold by shops selling garmins.. tot it was 'official' o_O

nw dats gd... mfm & msm here i cm :bouncefire:

thks Demon for cue :thumb::bow:

hey is it waterproof?i wonder if it is raining cat dog will it last long?

eh if u asking abt nuvi500, it says 'waterproof'.. so i xpect it to be since it's selling at 'waterproof' feature price.. else gonna b mad at garmin lor.. ve nt been brave enuf to ride in cat dog rain yet...

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v469/udaloy/2010-10-23%20-%20Camp%20in%20Kg%20Peta/PA240356.jpg

Hope this pic will lay to rest any doubts on the Nuvi5X0 waterproof claim :)

submerged mine with no issues too!

Usually, how much is this waterproof garmin?

Sent from my GT-P1000

now gt qn on micro sd memory size liao..

help!!...

2gb, 4gb or 8gb?? tending towards 4gb.. or 2gb + 2gb.. in case 1 4gb spoil then cry

jus found out.. microSD & microSDHC diff wor... so HC can b used on 500 bo??

Edited by yogi

Usually, how much is this waterproof garmin?

Sent from my GT-P1000

nuvi 500/550 some shops selling $400 upwards...

motorcycle spec wan more exp bah

Edited by yogi

now gt qn on micro sd memory size liao..

help!!...

2gb, 4gb or 8gb?? tending towards 4gb.. or 2gb + 2gb.. in case 1 4gb spoil then cry

For nuvi/Zumo with XXX (3 digits), such as 200, 550, 765...etc, a 2gb will be more than sufficient for a typical user. That is because these era of gps can only recognise a single file ie, gmapsupp.img in the SDcard. A typical mfm covering several countries of this region is only about 110mb.

But 2gb SDcard is quite hard to find now as 4gb seems to be the minimum standard now

jus found out.. microSD & microSDHC diff wor... so HC can b used on 500 bo??

as long as it is SDcard of the correct physical size, HC, high speed.....etc all can be used.

For nuvi/Zumo with XXX (3 digits), such as 200, 550, 765...etc, a 2gb will be more than sufficient for a typical user. That is because these era of gps can only recognise a single file ie, gmapsupp.img in the SDcard. A typical mfm covering several countries of this region is only about 110mb.

But 2gb SDcard is quite hard to find now as 4gb seems to be the minimum standard now

as long as it is SDcard of the correct physical size, HC, high speed.....etc all can be used.

thankQ Guru Demon for the wise advice :thumb:

nw slightly wiser :cool:

nuvi 500/550 some shops selling $400 upwards...

motorcycle spec wan more exp bah

JK is selling the nuvi 500 for $499

http://www.jkcommercial.com.sg/index-1.html

cheaper alternative is to buy from Amazon.com: US$262 ... about S$320 @1.22 excluding shipping.

shipping can use VPOST or direct from Amazon.

http://www.amazon.com/Garmin-n%C3%BCvi-3-5-Inch-Portable-Navigator/dp/B001CT009O/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1314265347&sr=8-2

for mounting to bike, strongly recommend investment in RAM Mount kit, a little expensive but its definitely worth it. i've got 2 sets on my bike, 1 for nuvi 550, another for camera :p

check this out...

Garmin Waterproof GPS & RAM Mounting Solutions

~

Current Ride: FJS400 Silver Wing

Trips:

23~27 Dec 2014: 5D5N KL & Ipoh

Scooby's blog http://scoobydooby-doo.blogspot.sg/

Tech Corner http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php/325894-lt-Info-gt-Silverwing-400cc-600cc-Tech-Corner

shipping can use VPOST or direct from Amazon.

when buying electronics devices or any thing that use batteries, and shipping it here via Vpost, use only the Oregon address and not the California address. California has some strange regulations that prohibit the shipment of these item out of USA.

Any cheap GPS to recommand?

Usually car gps is cheap enough. Juz mount it. I dun think u wanna ride in the rain while looking at ur small gps rite. Its already dangerous enough that u r riding in the rain.

Sent from my GT-P1000 using Tapatalk

anyone interested in tis?

only used it 2 times on the road as i cant concentrate looking on gps and road at the same time

as long as got handlebar can mount

the grip is adjustable so basically can fit anything

[ATTACH=CONFIG]224197[/ATTACH][ATTACH=CONFIG]224198[/ATTACH]

18-05-11 - 07-11-11 CBR150

15-11-11 - 21-04-12 TZM150

20-11-12 -------110cc Pit Bike

04-05-13 - 18-04-15 WR400

25-04-15 ------------- XR400

Actually i have been using my Ram mount for the last 6 months and normally don't remove it from the bike at all...I don't think lot of people actually know it is removable and not rally interested in stealing them :p

Hi, have a question for the folks using RAM mount to mount their GPS device. When you ride with this, do you leave the mount on the bike, or do you remove it?

If you remove it, do you find it very "ma fan", everytime have to unlatch the satnav, pull out the electrical cable, unscrew the RAM mount, and then when you want to ride again, put it back?

Usually car gps is cheap enough. Juz mount it. I dun think u wanna ride in the rain while looking at ur small gps rite. Its already dangerous enough that u r riding in the rain.

If you are in Thailand, in middle of rain, and no shelter, you reach a junction.. there you can appreciate the value of waterproof GPS.

and even on Highway

no rain - mount the GPS

rain - stop the bike, take out and put into bag/box

no rain - stop the bike, mount the GPS