Do you gear up when riding?  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Do you gear up when riding?

• Yes
    • No

yeap, i study NTU too bro.. CEE4, u? i'm staying in hougang so i always take KJE->BKE->mandai->SLE to go home from sch..

gilat gilat paintwork can respray mah.. at least your skin is well protected.. better bring ur bike to do some safety checks at the workshop 1st ah..in case alignment run off..

ride safe and get well soon from the knee abrasions bro.. =)

wat bike u riding.. i study in sbs, e one and only yellow atlantic in sch i guess.. I want to send the bike to the workshop in kallang but its kinda far.. maybe i take public the next few days.. sat den go over kallang

• Replies 586

wat bike u riding.. i study in sbs, e one and only yellow atlantic in sch i guess.. I want to send the bike to the workshop in kallang but its kinda far.. maybe i take public the next few days.. sat den go over kallang

i'm riding a blue yamaha spark135. usually park at N1 near the cargo lift if i park in sch. but now staying @ hall 2.:cheeky:

hope to see ur bike back in sch after the repairs soon! :)

Hey Vespa11! I saw you on the way back from sch on monday on KJE, haha, you were puttering by me, I recognise that yellow atlantic. lol. we were going off BKE to mandai at that time.

Hope you're ok man, no residual bruises etc. See you back on the roads soon.

Time to invest in a pair of reinforced jeans or kneepads!

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

Hey Vespa11! I saw you on the way back from sch on monday on KJE, haha, you were puttering by me, I recognise that yellow atlantic. lol. we were going off BKE to mandai at that time.

Hope you're ok man, no residual bruises etc. See you back on the roads soon.

Time to invest in a pair of reinforced jeans or kneepads!

wah i tio spot by ppl.. monday that is like yesteday, i think i should be on tat stretch of road at about 10pm? Paisay i dunno wat puttering means. Ur ride is a? friendly wave next time :)

haha, i'm a black bajaj pulsar, matte black FF. aye, sure thing man, on the friendly wave.

was easy la, once you said yellow atlantic. yellow atlantic + rider in gear on that stretch of the road, quite noticable, lol.

where d'ya normally park in sch? for sbs that is.

Edited by Orleng

SBT #1149 Price List

haha, i'm a black bajaj pulsar, matte black FF. aye, sure thing man.

was easy la, once you said yellow atlantic. yellow atlantic + rider in gear on that stretch of the road, quite noticable, lol.

where d'ya normally park in sch? for sbs that is.

I think i noe which pulsar is that.. P plate tio bo, u wear helmet with a bandana .. i saw u wen i was heading to sch yesteday but dun rem seeing u wen i came back.

I am e advocate for safety so yellow bike (bright bright) + gear. i park in SBS carpark juz squeeze thru.. which sch are u from?

Edited by Vespa11
I think i noe which pulsar is that.. P plate tio bo, u wear helmet with a bandana .. i saw u wen i was heading to sch yesteday but dun rem seeing u wen i came back.

I am e advocate for safety so yellow bike (bright bright) + gear. i park in SBS carpark juz squeeze thru.. which sch are u from?

ah yea, that's right, that's me. wah, did i do anything crazy? how come you can remmeber sia. heh. i think it might have been on the way to sch then, that i saw you, and some other dude wearing gear who was heading home.

heh, yea man, you're bike super bright, i was like wah.....yellow scooter! i still p-plate, don't see too many brightly coloured scooters, don't talk about silver la. hope the paintwork isn't scuffed up too badly?

i'm in CEE

SBT #1149 Price List

ah yea, that's right, that's me. wah, did i do anything crazy? how come you can remmeber sia. heh. i think it might have been on the way to sch then, that i saw you, and some other dude wearing gear who was heading home.

heh, yea man, you're bike super bright, i was like wah.....yellow scooter! i still p-plate, don't see too many brightly coloured scooters, don't talk about silver la. hope the paintwork isn't scuffed up too badly?

i'm in CEE

noticed u cos u wearing a full face helmet and the helmet looks kinda nice. Right side of the bike scuffed upside down.. will send for respray after exams. glad to see several safety advocates in NTU, and i tot i am the only one

I'm just so glad to see so many of you knowing the importance of gearing up! That's very good!

But do consider wearing knee guards... they are not difficult to put on and it's convenient to store inside your box too! What's a few seconds more to strap on your knee guards?

More often than not, when a rider falls, the knees are the ones that takes the impact first. And I noticed that it's the most neglected area!

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

I'm just so glad to see so many of you knowing the importance of gearing up! That's very good!

But do consider wearing knee guards... they are not difficult to put on and it's convenient to store inside your box too! What's a few seconds more to strap on your knee guards?

More often than not, when a rider falls, the knees are the ones that takes the impact first. And I noticed that it's the most neglected area!

According to my experience, its definately 100% the knee will take the impact first( my first and only skid to date left me with a injured knee).

Hey guys, anyone knows those leather jackets from the Harley Davidson shops are good? I saw one from the shop at Takashimaya which costs approximately $250 and it does have armor inside as well.

Anyone used them before? Does the cost justify it's quality or is it only for the brand and I can find some other of better quality with the same amount of moolah?

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg
Hey guys, anyone knows those leather jackets from the Harley Davidson shops are good? I saw one from the shop at Takashimaya which costs approximately $250 and it does have armor inside as well.

Anyone used them before? Does the cost justify it's quality or is it only for the brand and I can find some other of better quality with the same amount of moolah?

Wow Harley leather jacket for $250?? Sounds like a steal!! I think it is very difficult to find a leather jacket with that price, which is from a well-known company.

But then you got to see. I think the thickness of the leather used, the type of stitching, the type of armour (whether it's CE approved or not? whether it is soft or hard armour) plays a part too. Some leather jackets are also perforated (more cooling to wear).

Most importantly, do they have a size that fits snuggly on ur body? The armour on a loose-fitting jacket won't do much during a fall. The armour will just slide off to one side, leaving ur shoulders and elbows "unprotected".

But $250 really sounds like a steal man .. and some more it is from Harley. Do you know the model of the jacket? I wana look at it online and see how it looks like :)

c26492.jpg

if you can get the jacket at 250 for a leather one and it fits right...it sounds like a steal to me! my suggestion is go ahead and buy it -

Unless it is branded - Hurley Davidson - then i suggest you think twice haha:cheeky:

My Ride - Vespa ET8

Former But Damn Good Ride ST1100 (STOC # 7811)

Patience is a virtue....

Think of SAVING GAIA http://www.savinggaia.sg/

Unless it is branded - Hurley Davidson - then i suggest you think twice haha:cheeky:

HAHAHAHAHAHA!!!!! :lol::lol::lol:

c26492.jpg

I am glad to say that I am now doing a market survey and order taking for Motorbike Jeans with inner lining (that I am bringing into singapore) for additional protection as well as knee guards built in...yippee!!!

Why? cos it can be done and it can be done at a decent price. I have complained in my other posts - you don't have much of a choice in protecting your ass and its not that easy to click and order on line [the hassle of it] and it normally costs an arm and a leg to get them.

Just click on my signature to see what it looks like.

My Ride - Vespa ET8

Patience is a virtue....

well, i do gear up while riding; jacket, jeans/pants and shoes. esp at night. not forgetting my scarf too! hahaha.

Faster than fast,

Quicker than quick.

But $250 really sounds like a steal man .. and some more it is from Harley. Do you know the model of the jacket? I wana look at it online and see how it looks like :)

Hey there, unfortunately I do not know the model of the jacket. Ah, I passed by there yesterday but forgot about it! I'll drop by again one of these days and let you know. Cheers!

http://i223.photobucket.com/albums/dd13/eedwinn89/IMG_4518-1-1.jpg

wont a full leather be too hot to use in local weather?

http://images3.wikia.nocookie.net/__cb20111128075727/xanthe/nl/images/1/1f/Asian-Troll-Face.jpg

http://i140.photobucket.com/albums/r3/iewgnail/LW2.jpg

I am glad to say that I am now doing a market survey and order taking for Motorbike Jeans with inner lining (that I am bringing into singapore) for additional protection as well as knee guards built in...yippee!!!

Why? cos it can be done and it can be done at a decent price. I have complained in my other posts - you don't have much of a choice in protecting your ass and its not that easy to click and order on line [the hassle of it] and it normally costs an arm and a leg to get them.

Just click on my signature to see what it looks like.

Hey not bad! But will the "Kevlar-like" material provide the same protection as real Kevlar? Better to use the real thing IMHO.

well, i do gear up while riding; jacket, jeans/pants and shoes. esp at night. not forgetting my scarf too! hahaha.

Wow scarf? For protecting the neck? Or to look more stylish? :lol:

Hey there, unfortunately I do not know the model of the jacket. Ah, I passed by there yesterday but forgot about it! I'll drop by again one of these days and let you know. Cheers!

It's ok, no worries. I'm just curious :)

wont a full leather be too hot to use in local weather?

Full leathers is too much lah, but perforated leather jacket is still OK.

c26492.jpg
Hey not bad! But will the "Kevlar-like" material provide the same protection as real Kevlar? Better to use the real thing IMHO.

Honestly - I was assured by the manufacturer that it is Kevlar. However - I'm waiting for the certificates before I put it down as such. I do not want to misrepresent the stuff.... I've tried burning it - well kevlar is supposed to be fire resistant - ha ha..Maybe I should burn longer..

My Ride - Vespa ET8

Patience is a virtue....

Honestly - I was assured by the manufacturer that it is Kevlar. However - I'm waiting for the certificates before I put it down as such. I do not want to misrepresent the stuff.... I've tried burning it - well kevlar is supposed to be fire resistant - ha ha..Maybe I should burn longer..

Test it with a firearm. Kevlar is supposed to be bullet-proof also. My annual reservist shoot is coming soon. :lol:

c26492.jpg
Test it with a firearm. Kevlar is supposed to be bullet-proof also. My annual reservist shoot is coming soon. :lol:

dress up the figure 11 with the kevlar pants then OTOT!

SBT #1149 Price List

Jsut wanted to share with you guys that currently im using the pac safe antitheft bag to lock my full face, jacket and gloves. With 2 of them, i can lock my overpants as well.

I feel that this is very useful for bike without panniers and top box.For past 1 year, i need not not carry anything whenever i go even though my bike has no compartment at all

http://www.pac-safe.com/www/index.php?_room=3&_action=detail&id=27

Hope this encourage more bikers gear up when riding:thumb:

My Luv!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumb:

Jsut wanted to share with you guys that currently im using the pac safe antitheft bag to lock my full face, jacket and gloves. With 2 of them, i can lock my overpants as well.

I feel that this is very useful for bike without panniers and top box.For past 1 year, i need not not carry anything whenever i go even though my bike has no compartment at all

http://www.pac-safe.com/www/index.php?_room=3&_action=detail&id=27

Hope this encourage more bikers gear up when riding:thumb:

Hi Alex,

Thanks for sharing. How much did you pay for 1 of these? You can squeeze your riding jacket into it?? Is there a Singapore distributor?

Edited by yohji
c26492.jpg

Hi Yoshi,

Sad to say that the pac safe helmet lock cant be found in Singapore, i bought my piece in HK (nearest distributor) and brought back to sing by a hk buddy.

But i did call the distributor and they say the delivery can be arranged with additional charges. The disti info can be found in the same website.

Currently, Im storing my riding jacket/gloves in the bag, and the cable outside to lock the helmet while locking to the bike.

Sometimes, when i use my expensive helmet i just bring 2 of them to store everything (sometimes including pants)

Hope this help

:thumb:alex

My Luv!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:thumb: