Hey bros and sis,

just curious, when u guys do your u-turns from stationery position, do u do it while holding onto your half cluthc (1st gear), or do u kick up to 2nd gear and negotiate the turn?

even thou school teaches us to turn with 2nd gear, i find the bike jerking too vigorously to be negotiating the u-turn smoothly. so i personally prefer using half clutch or sometimes even turning in 1st gear w/o holding onto the clutch.

how about u guys? am i doing anything wrong, since everything the school teaches seems to have a good reason for it.

• Replies 41

1st gear/2nd gear'd be advisable. half clutching during a turn is not advisable.

you might lose control or balance easily.

kifakw

Understeer is when you hit the wall with the front of the car

and oversteer is when you hit the wall with the rear of the car.

Horsepower is how fast you hit the wall,

torque is how far you take the wall with you.

when i am first in line for the u-turn, i do it with gear 1 half clutch control. if i am coming in as 2nd in line, i use 2nd gear, no clutch. always use my rear brake for more control as well.

http://simonnunis.smugmug.com/photos/684724736_fuDoa-M-1.jpg

use whats comfortable for u loh =p

i use half-clutch when moving off from standstill..and i make an effort to turn into lane 1..

2nd gear (rarely) if not required to stop..however im not a fan cuz i stalled once and the bike dropped ;_;

baby, u're my love..

http://i708.photobucket.com/albums/ww87/curtailed_cat/DSC_0725_650.jpg

No hard and fast rule with regards to gear selection. If your bike is geared low enough, by all means use 2nd gear with clutch fully engaged. Else do whatever feels comfortable and controllable.

Body position, rear brake usage, throttle control, clutch control, type of bike, all play a part in executing a smooth U-turn.

Past: KDX200, LC4 400, LC4 620, GSXR750WR

Present: CBR900RRY, Gas Gas EC250, XR250L, XR250RV, XR400 (motard-ed), NX650 Dominator

bbdc teach us do u-turn with half clutch gear 1 leh...where got 2nd gear... lol... but pass aready heck care...as long dun fall down can already...

"Love is not about being with someone, but seeing that someone happy with the one they love"

i prefer using half clutch and 1st gear most of the time. but with my leg down so that got better balance. but sometimes just heck care and go in 2nd gear provided the traffic is clear.

Guns don't kill people.Idiots with guns kill people.

do u turn with the gears engaged is better in my opinion cos power transmittion is there constantly by the control of the throttle. but gear 1 or 2? i would choose gear 1 cos the control of gear 1 is better at lower speed.

end of the day, it depends on individual's comfort level... do wat u feel its the best way to handle a bike on a U-turn...

for me, 2nd gear half clutch.. left abit den go down right all the way and open more throttle..

http://singapore.check4d.com/SingaporeResult.gif

mew?

<3 Vickii and Freya

://www.demonchild.org

1st or 2nd gear.

this is what we learnt in riding sch.

1/2 clutch might lose control.

2000-Yamaha lc125/2001yamaha tzr125/2002Suzuki gsxr400r/2003-Honda TA 200/2005-Honda wave S 125/2005-Honda S4 spec 2/2007-yamaha yp400/2008-yamaha R6/2009-Honda CG 125/2010-Suzuki Dr200se/2010-Honda steed 400/2011-honda cb400sf pb1/2011-sym joyride 200/2012-honda wave

Bbdc taught 1st gear uh but when i was riding with the instructors they told me 2nd gear easier to negotiate the turn. But then i still prefer first gear especially with a pillion. Seems like easier to control for me.

Current : Honda SP 150 Dated 08/09

http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b137/abc567_/31082009001.jpg

neither. jam the rear brake to induce a rear wheel lock.. countersteer into the u-turn.. THEN apply throttle to power slide out of it while doin a tiny wheelie.. :D

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

neither. jam the rear brake to induce a rear wheel lock.. countersteer into the u-turn.. THEN apply throttle to power slide out of it while doin a tiny wheelie.. :D

can demo? :D

clutch is for smooth gear change over or from stationary. Never use half clutch once the bike is moving. Prolong using half clutch will cause wear off clutch disc. Jerking is because your speed is too slow. Also it depends on the types of bike.

Whatever you're comfortable with. Personally, I prefer 1st gear w/ clutch control.

Practice makes perfect.

If after riding for a few years and you still worry about losing control with the clutch, then you need to go back to the driving center.

do it this way :cheeky:

[yt]

[/yt]

no problem if road is only 1 lane clear!

Edited by Orleng

Smile! Tomorrow will be worse.

SBT #1149 Price List

i prefer using half clutch and 1st gear most of the time. but with my leg down so that got better balance. but sometimes just heck care and go in 2nd gear provided the traffic is clear.

I also do the same when I'm making a u-turn, 'cause for me it's better than stalling or dropping bike. haha

Hell, i half clutch, then faster release, then drag all the way until i finish my turn! :)

[Double Post]

Edited by crazydj

depends lor. normally i use 1/2 clutch 1st gear. But my fren like to go in at 3rd gear when traffic is clear then machiam power slide like that... :p

"A government afraid of its citizens is a Democracy. Citizens afraid of government is tyranny!"

— Thomas Jefferson

:eek: :eek: