I never like to wear gloves but looks like it will be better to have one when there is the next fall, then next would be riding jacket. Can anyone recommend me some comfortable and also protective gloves?

fingers n palm kena n my knee blue black.

Gloves are a must, drop by Regina or Motorworld can look around for ur preferred ones :)

Get a gd one and use it.

BTW i selling rarely used Shoei Tamada White/Red, 3 months old @ $500 neg, PM me if interested

• Replies 279

Gloves can be found with prices starting at 50-70 sgd, they will do to prevent skin abrasion for low speed falls. Then you have the gloves that cost around 80-100 sgd, these usually have the whole thing: leather, armor protection, wrist and palm protection and can be either to the wrist or a bit longer to cover about 5cm from your wrist.

Start with whatever your budget allows you to buy, and once you'll get used to ride with gloves and won;t be able to ride without, you'll upgrade - here are sales regularly at bikeshops for pas season gloves which honestly are not different from the new models: there is no new technology invented for gloves. it's just the design and colors/make that varies, so don;t worry about buying "last year's" gloves, you could get an excellent deal there.

Oh and if you're conviced gloves are essential, then knee guards are the legs gloves. Your knee will 100% get a hit if you fall, unless you manage to fall on your back and stay there like a ninja turtle. A jean will not save your knee, just grab a pair of velcro-able knee guards and be done with it. Dump them in your box with the helmet and voila, you're less likely to get injured when you fall..

Pulsarians Singapore on Facebook:

The Page: http://fb.me/SingaporePulsarians For general news and info

The Group: http://fb.me/groups/pulsarianssg/ For all the interaction

between Pulsarians, maintenance tips, accessories, trips & meet-ups and of course live answers to all your questions !

i can never ride without my gloves. feels funny..

on a side note,my gloves has saved my hands numerous times. get used to wearing it, its good for you..

yeah.. gloves ftw... it helps wif the grip better... lesser vibration and warm ur hands wen riding at nite/in the rain... even if u get a stupid low speed fall, u can save alot of pain from torn palms..

A ride a day, keeps the doctor away!

2010-2012 : Honda Phantom TA200

2012-current : SYM Maxsym 400i

Youtube Channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/adiknaim

SG Maxsym FB Group: http://www.facebook.com/groups/sgmaxsym/

hey guys, what are your thoughts on an air jacket. its basically a jacket with tubings in it and will deploy/inflate on trigger.

do you think it would minimize breakage of fragile bones? (clavicle/spine/etc)

up for discussion! oh, and happy labor day!

Bike: Supermoto - 2A (DRZ400SM)

Purpose: Daily commuting rain or shine

Gear ATT:

Leather gloves

Covered shoes/boots

Openface Helmet

Gear MOTT:

Long sleeve top (my uniform, still needa fold back smart4 to book in)

Long pants (my uniform)

Army boots

Arms socks (while not in uniform, prevents sunburn and also protects your arm to a certain extend)

Berms/jeans

Gear SOTT:

Fullface

Mesh Jacket (if i'm hitting NSHW, i'll wear it)

Jeans (if i'm hitting NSHW, i'll wear it)

Most of the time i'll be wearing my uniform to and fro from work.. It provides more protection compared to my out of work attire for riding which is mostly short sleeve Tee with Berms..

I never wore slippers for riding except to bring bike to washing bay..

For Msia rides, definitely more protection if i'm hitting NSHW.. but if it's just Permas Jaya A&W trip for example, my usual tee and berms attire..

looking forward own a armoured/kelvar jeans for normal usage and touring pants for long trips..

IMHO, i would advocate all riders to stop wearing slippers and minimally wear gloves (even if it's just fabric MTB gloves, NO durian gloves please) for local riding..

Recently I just kissed the tarmac, luckily it was a low speed corner so just escape with only minor injuries which is only the skins. Luckily I was wearing jeans and safety shoes, so only my right knee cap tio a little bit. But as for hands.. how I wished I had gloves with me.

As for helmet, I always like FF but riding as kup.. feels damn funny image for kup and FF Helmet.. But considering safety, I might just go for it.

I never like to wear gloves but looks like it will be better to have one when there is the next fall, then next would be riding jacket. Can anyone recommend me some comfortable and also protective gloves?

Lesson learned.

haha.. tell me abt that again..

let me know when you are sourcing for gloves..

alternatively, check out the CMO on Fox Bomber Gloves..

They are consider quite good and cheap for local riding..

Palm is leather, but back of hand is fabric.. I used them for my MTB riding thou..

haha.. tell me abt that again..

let me know when you are sourcing for gloves..

alternatively, check out the CMO on Fox Bomber Gloves..

They are consider quite good and cheap for local riding..

Palm is leather, but back of hand is fabric.. I used them for my MTB riding thou..

Gonna head down to Regina and have a look soon when time permits~

Does anybody have any recommendations for a lightweight daily riding pant with some protection? I have a Komine mesh jacket which is pretty much perfect - adequate protection on shoulders, elbows and back, not too bulky, and mesh construction which makes it comfortable for daily use.

I'm looking for pants with similar characteristics - something ventilated and reasonably streamlined, so it can pass for an ordinary pair of black jeans (from a distance anyway).

Any ideas?

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

Does anybody have any recommendations for a lightweight daily riding pant with some protection? I have a Komine mesh jacket which is pretty much perfect - adequate protection on shoulders, elbows and back, not too bulky, and mesh construction which makes it comfortable for daily use.

I'm looking for pants with similar characteristics - something ventilated and reasonably streamlined, so it can pass for an ordinary pair of black jeans (from a distance anyway).

Any ideas?

try komine

try komine

Hmmm... I didn't see any Komine pants last time I was at Motoworld, but maybe I wasn't looking properly... shall go check it out again.

Any other brands/shops I can compare with?

If everything seems under control, you're simply not going fast enough. - Mario Andretti

I'm using the cortech DSX denim jeans. It's a baggy cut jeans with leather lining at impact areas. Comes with a CE knee armour as well. The jeans material is thicker than a normal levis jeans.

Any ideas?

Bike: Sportsbike - Class 2 Pulsar

Purpose: Daily Use

Gear ATT (all the time):

1. ISI Helmet

2. Gloves with armour

3. Shoulder and elbow armour (part of inner layer)

4. Standalone back protector

5. Jeans with armour

6. Riding shoes

Gear SOTT (some of the time):

1. Full armour jacket

Nail polish remover

I'm using the cortech DSX denim jeans. It's a baggy cut jeans with leather lining at impact areas. Comes with a CE knee armour as well. The jeans material is thicker than a normal levis jeans.

I'm looking for something to wear over my office wear, so I can take it off and put it away when I get to work. Would this fit the bill? How much does it cost?

Bike: Sportsbike - Class 2 Pulsar

Class 2 Pulsar...? Never heard of such a thing... I thought the largest was 220cc o_O

And what's with the url.... you selling this stuff? :angel:

iam looking for a well-armour-ed pants,e more protection e best.

any recomandations ?

Gear ATT:

Shoei FF

Alpinestar Gloves

Gear MOTT/SOTT

Komine Mesh jacket

Sidi Riding Shoes

When i feel need a bit more wind, i wear my multitec. best and worst of both worlds.

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

Gear ATT:

Shoei FF

Alpinestar Gloves

Gear MOTT/SOTT

Komine Mesh jacket

Sidi Riding Shoes

When i feel need a bit more wind, i wear my multitec. best and worst of both worlds.

hey sherman, long time no see. what bike you riding now? r15?

for me,

Gear ATT

HJC Full Face, Fox Glove, Covered Shoe.

GEAR MOTT

Same as above with Alpinestar Armor Jacket.

jacket has saved my life before so no questions whether i'll be wearing it or not. unless my destination is shopping or place where i cannot store my jacket, then i won't wear it.

I'm looking for something to wear over my office wear, so I can take it off and put it away when I get to work. Would this fit the bill? How much does it cost?

Perhaps an overpant like this?

http://i1089.photobucket.com/albums/i349/MaxRevson/Online%20Pics/drift.gif

The sideways shall inherit the drift

That's not bad actually. Though the armour coverage seems a bit less than I would like, but still better than nothing. Any idea if they're available locally, or do I have to order online?

Thanks for the tip!

hey csv. currently riding revo.. awesome bike.

full face saved me twice.

once against the guard rail another against the rear end of a lorry.

swear by full face helmets with my life.

'bikes are your sweet poison. despite knowing it would kill, you would die just to have a taste of it. '

That's not bad actually. Though the armour coverage seems a bit less than I would like, but still better than nothing. Any idea if they're available locally, or do I have to order online?

Thanks for the tip!

I've no idea whether that's sold locally. However, given the exchange rates these days, I'd much rather buy online. Beats the hassle of chasing down a particular brand in town. PM-ed you.

Edited by Max Revson

Thanks! I checked out the http://sportbiketrackgear.com/ website, and found a few other options as well... of varying prices (and suitability I guess)

Scorpion ExoWear Deuce Pants $159.95 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=4097

Spidi NL5 Mesh Pants $229.95 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=6888

REV'IT! Rotor Pants $189.99 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=8531

REV'IT! Mistral Pants $239.99 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=8529

REV'IT! Tornado Pants $259.99 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=9847

ICON Hooligan 2 Mesh Overpants $115 http://stores.sportbiketrackgear.com/Detail.bok?no=10045

The Hooligan2 is by far the cheapest, though the Scorpion isn't too bad either. Would be great to see the items for myself before ordering online

I found a couple of interesting Komie models at Motoworld ($180-230), but they didn't have my size (2 month wait if ordered now). Also tried the REV'IT! Rotor Pants at Chiap Lee ($240). Now I'm not sure whether to buy locally or go for the ICON Hooligan2 - it may be a bit cheaper, but how does the product compare...?

I cannot speak experientially as to how the two compare or whether the ICON would be a better buy in terms of quality etc. But I think you may feel more comfy buying locally, so go with your gut feeling.

Let's take this to PM from here, if needed. Dun wanna clutter up the thread.