I'm getting my 2A soon and was trawling the site for some 2nd hand bike deals. occasionally i come across statements such as "upgrading to bigger safer bike" or "selling 2b to get a 2a bike cos safer"

so, is it true that 2A/2 bikes are safe-er then 2B bikes? why so?

• Replies 117

Better brakes? More speed to get away dangerous situations?

its got more weight plus more power to deal with the weight. thus better stability and grip. its got fatter tyres, thus better grip again and better cornering ability. bigger engine thus quicker response.

if its got more stability, better grip, better cornering ability and quicker response, of coz its safer. think about it: at our driving center wet e-brake station, 2a and 2 bikes are made to hit a higher speed before performing the e-brake, and i tell you it feels far less scary than the 2b bike. a 2b bike trying to match that speed will most likely skid and fall. proof positive of the bigger bike's better safety.

a detailed study over two decades of traffic statistics done in US in the 90's shows indeed contrary to popular belief, the likelihood of a motorcycle accident actually decreases the bigger the bike capacity.

just bear in mind two things:

1) its faster, but speed is entirely the rider's choice. a biker can choose to go at an appropriately safe speed. if he doesn, you cant blame the bike by saying its dangerous 'because its fast'.

2) statistics in UK also show that newbie riders who immediately jump on high-powered bikes with no prior riding experience on smaller capacity bikes have a high likelihood of getting into an accident in their first month of riding.

http://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/689/siggyyy.jpghttp://imagizer.imageshack.us/v2/280x200q90/203/hsmj.jpg

It's true: it's more fun to ride a slow bike fast than to ride a fast bike slow. Admittedly, though... It is MOST fun to ride a fast bike fast!

Simply because 2B = Newbie for the most part.

Its the rider, not the bike. More on skill and experience than anything else. Singapore you don't need so much power, Msia is different, some riders ride like siao in SG but become pussies on Msian highways. Yes a class 2a and 2 bike is safer in the hands of a relatively experienced rider but keep in mind they also have more power.

If you never rode before but then suddenly you get a class 2 bike, think you can handle the weight and power?

2B is fabulous for jams nowadays, really can cruise filtering traffic. But without jams, 2 is the best, like the above, better brakes, cornering, dynamics and everything. So depends on your use of the bike, no one bike fits all.

Let this share this 2 real incidents of mine.

Years back when I was still riding a small cc bike, I was on the left lane of a 2 lane road.

I was riding along when this container lorry on the next lane just changed lane with me just next to it.

I whacked the **** out of the bike and barely managed to squeeze through before the f8cker closed in. Barely.

Power? I rather have more than have less.

2nd incident was when i was riding in the rain on the highway.

Riding along happily when the truck diagonally in front swerved into my lane to avoid a car in front.

The ABS on my bike saved my ass.

Note that ABS are only available on larger capacity bikes and please dun give me the BS on how to brake correctly and how ABS is pointless.

Power and brakes = I rather have more than less.

Edited by Constructicon

*like* post. lol

True, Sometimes i really feel I need that extra power and pickup.

I was on the right lane just now to over take a bus. Behind me, a car was coming very fast I tried to speed up to overtake the bus so I can keep left for them to pass but took awhile for that to happen. :S

Let this share this 2 real incidents of mine.

Years back when I was still riding a small cc bike, I was on the left lane of a 2 lane road.

I was riding along when this container lorry on the next lane just changed lane with me just next to it.

I whacked the **** out of the bike and barely managed to squeeze through before the f8cker closed in. Barely.

Power? I rather have more than have less.

2nd incident was when i was riding in the rain on the highway.

Riding along happily when the truck diagonally in front swerved into my lane to avoid a car in front.

The ABS on my bike saved my ass.

Note that ABS are only available on larger capacity bikes and please dun give me the BS on how to brake correctly and how ABS is pointless.

Pretty much why I blast the bike whenever I go beside large vehicles, the further I am from them, the better. Vehicles with many blind spots dangerous liao. I wished I had ABS when I jammed braked near a road shoulder, my front wheel wouldn't have locked, I wouldn't have buanged.

Drivers tend to give bigger bikes a wider berth. I noticed it when moving through 2B to 2. Maybe the lights or size or whatever. Definitely feel safer on a class 2.

http://img24.exs.cx/img24/4926/1961_7_168x113.jpghttp://img24.exs.cx/img24/6209/158_3_168x112.jpghttp://img99.exs.cx/img99/6289/index_04.gifhttp://img31.exs.cx/img31/5149/122006304_T.jpg

"Thy fate is the common fate of all;

into each life some rain must fall" - Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

I'm getting my 2A soon and was trawling the site for some 2nd hand bike deals. occasionally i come across statements such as "upgrading to bigger safer bike" or "selling 2b to get a 2a bike cos safer"

so, is it true that 2A/2 bikes are safe-er then 2B bikes? why so?

many people can give you a long explanation about why but i dunno if this helps...

my 2 cents...

small motorcycles make you FEEL like you are RIDING ( as in bicycle style, especially cubs )...bigger bikes makes you FEEL like you are DRIVING ( at least it feels more or less that FEELING )...whether you are fast or slow on the roads. Most people ( most anyway ) feel driving is safer.

i dunno if you can understand...but i think if you use your imagination, you will get the picture. :)

btw, percentages & statistics may say safer or lesser chance but still nothing is 100%. Car or lorry also no 100%, let alone a bigger bike.

maybe it is true that a bigger bike is safer, so if you ride a smaller bike, it will requires / demands more from the RIDER lor.

even so, i suspect small bike with a SAFE RIDER is still better than a SAFE big bike with a DANGEROUS RIDER, right ?

however, if you think you are already a safe rider & yet still want a safer bike, by all means go get a bigger one...:)

Edited by bukitmerah

Thanks & Best Regards.

We are all here to share & learn. :thumb:

You ride bigger bikes then you know why its safer.

Better road let u riding confidently...

Bikes Owned: LC125 RXZ135 GSXR400RP CB400VS CB400Spec2 SV650 02CBRF4i FZ1000 CBR929 05YZF-R6 CBR150 HondaSonic125 Yamaha_CygnusX125 KymcoGrandink_250 Hornet_250 04_Yamaha_Tmax Silverwing 400 FZ6_S2 GSXR600K7

its got more weight plus more power to deal with the weight. thus better stability and grip. its got fatter tyres, thus better grip again and better cornering ability. bigger engine thus quicker response.

if its got more stability, better grip, better cornering ability and quicker response, of coz its safer. think about it: at our driving center wet e-brake station, 2a and 2 bikes are made to hit a higher speed before performing the e-brake, and i tell you it feels far less scary than the 2b bike. a 2b bike trying to match that speed will most likely skid and fall. proof positive of the bigger bike's better safety.

a detailed study over two decades of traffic statistics done in US in the 90's shows indeed contrary to popular belief, the likelihood of a motorcycle accident actually decreases the bigger the bike capacity.

1) its faster, but speed is entirely the rider's choice. a biker can choose to go at an appropriately safe speed. if he doesn, you cant blame the bike by saying its dangerous 'because its fast'.

2) statistics in UK also show that newbie riders who immediately jump on high-powered bikes with no prior riding experience on smaller capacity bikes have a high likelihood of getting into an accident in their first month of riding.

i suddenly got a crazy idea...if bigger / faster bikes are safer & we have statistics to prove it...shouldn't their insurance be cheaper too ? logical ?

maybe we should bug the insurers on this...:cheeky:

Thanks & Best Regards.

We are all here to share & learn. :thumb:

there is no such thing as a safer motorcycle, only a safer rider.

Bah-weep-Graaaaagnah wheep ni ni bong.

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v643/wayangxjr/contrast_siggy.jpg

No matter how safe/reckless a rider you are, tyres with better grip are definitely safer. If you have to do a lot of riding in the rain, bigger and grippier tyres will be a nice thing to have. No matter how careful you are, skidding is always a possibility, especially on wet roads.

The Bigger U r the more Visible U also r...

NSR 150 SP [FR5682H]: 7/7/04 - 15/11/05

GSX R400 RR [FL5988H]: 28/10/05 - 6/8/08

X1 Supreme [FBB4408Y]: 7/4/07 - 21/3/08

GSX R1000 K3 [FW9829A]: 27/9/07 - 20/2/08

GSX R1000 K7 [FBB??Z]: MIA o_O

GSX R1000 K8 [FBC????M]: 22/2/08 - 21/6/2013

125ZR [FBC 3720X]: 6/8/08 – 19/3/11

FJR 1300 ABS [FBC 3723M]: 21/6/2013

Sparks T135 [FBB 8146B]: 24/4/2015

Statistic never lie.