thought about it couple of times.... especially after getting hit by cab once, and seeing tents on the road...

But somehow, riding is more than just transportation for me.... my work kinda highly stressed, but when after work rriding home, like everything else just doesn't matter...

Same goes here, its truly more than just a transport...

Today, going back home cruising on the right lane approaching junction slowing down Q-in up for my turn, giving ample space between me and the front. Suddenly the left Nissan Teana make its right turn and join in the queue. (*classic act where u make the last minute decision)

-Happy part is where, not getting involved

Pillion my colleague today, felt her "tension" by her hand on my shoulder... her safety all in my hands. Very stressful during the moment on the road, still I have to protray confident image (*not because of ego) but ferrying her to the rightful destination and back safely.

• Replies 25.1k

Today while riding on CTE toward city, I saw a guy on a scrambler stopped on the extreme right lane just before the gantry. He was trying to fish something out from his back pocket and I guess it must be his cash card. Champion!!! He risked his life just to save on $10!!!

today,

my first accident.......self skid due to ebrake due to car eating into my right turn only lane.

yeah, i would love to play the blame game but that would be enough to fill a book.

bottom line is.....my gear saved my life. i was able to walk away and lift my bike back up. sprained my wrist and a few bruises on knee.

ATGATT, i was wearing armor jacket and FF. minor injuries, if i was fully attired with gloves and riding shoes, i would have probably be alot better.

thank god for my gear. if not, i'll probably be in a coffin already.

Don't say until so suay leh.

If not for your gear, you would be at the hospital with more serious abrasions.

Cos if you talk about dying on the roads... those type of impacts or crush injuries, even gear won't save you.

dramatic abit, scared the new riders into getting proper gear mah.

anyways, just glad that I managed to walk away. Things could be much much worse, if i wasn't wearing gear, or if there was a car behind me.

at least the car driver paid me for my medical, but my bike.....still awaiting ah chong's magic.

dramatic abit, scared the new riders into getting proper gear mah.

anyways, just glad that I managed to walk away. Things could be much much worse, if i wasn't wearing gear, or if there was a car behind me.

at least the car driver paid me for my medical, but my bike.....still awaiting ah chong's magic.

Yea, come accident or high water... the day when got accident and you can stand up and walk away, it is a good day...

Or reaching your destination in one piece, that's a good day too ....

"Wolves and sheep will live together in peace, and leopards will lie down with young goats, calves and lion cubs will feed together, and little children will take care of them. Cows and bears will eat together, and their calves and cubs will lie down in peace." Isaiah 11:6-8

http://s-ak.buzzfed.com/static/imagebuzz/web02/2010/9/8/17/be-an-optimist-prime-4756-1283979887-3.jpg

today while riding. was riding down and this taxi was swerving left and right and driving slow. I followed behind but feeling abit dangerous so horn him twice. He just ignored my horn. And proceed like nothing happened. I overtake him on the right to see him eating a burger on the right handwhile driving on the left hand...wtf!

later again, was driving down. taxi cutting into my lane. horn him again. realizing later, that was useless.

then another one. green light was on, on the left was a filter lane a truck just ignoring the oncoming me and other cars proceed straight to the rightmost lane. I gave a long horn. Useless.

Later, as I was riding, I'm slowing down when suddenly the car infront of me jammed his brake. I was slow at that moment, so I just proceed left on him. As the right turning vehicle pass through I was all about to proceed, he horned me....I guess thats being a p-plate, just 1 more month.

It seems there's really alot of difference between riding and riding with a p-plate. I wish I had a car horn installed. Bike horns seems useless sometimes...

After awhile you will just realise... no matter how loud your horn is, they will still eat in... and then you will just give up using the horn altogether..

The only time my horn is used now is during inspection... hehe.. :p

I 2nd that. Gave up using the horn as a means of warning those drivers. Only use it as a prod to move those drivers who fall asleep at traffic lights. If I have the time to use the horn, I might as well use that time to get myself outa trouble.

http://i884.photobucket.com/albums/ac46/Tachnicolour/Completed%20works/combination_2.jpg

Convert your backlight COLOURs at : <CMO> Speedo Backlight colour CONVERSION by Tachnicolour

I 2nd that. Gave up using the horn as a means of warning those drivers. Only use it as a prod to move those drivers who fall asleep at traffic lights. If I have the time to use the horn, I might as well use that time to get myself outa trouble.

Totally agree with it. If some cars cut into my lane, not so dangerous, just let them cut in, then I lane splitting, open up throttle, let them eat my smoke... Until they are out of my sight, carry on my journey as normal...

yesterday as i was riding along amk ave 5 with my gf as my pillion we got into an accident. i was heading straight while approaching the cross junction and amk ave 4 and 5. a honda civic turned right on the opposite side of the junction without even stopping and check, thus i collided onto the rear left side of his car. i was going at around 50km/hr but still wasnt able to stop in time. the accident just happened so quickly the next thing i know i was already lying on the road. i quickly got up and check on her condition. she was still conscious but suffered cuts on her legs arm and her chin. i was upset at the same time was very pissed off so i approached the driver whom continue to turn right and park at road side. i shouted at him and told him to call the ambulance while i return to attend to my gf who was bleeding on her lips and chin. my heart sank. many passer by and motorist came over and help us out. really own them a big thank you. as this is my first accident i wasnt very sure abt what to do. i exchange particulars with the driver however during that moment in shock i forgot to take picture of the scene and find ppl to be my witness. ambulance arrived after around 10-15 mins and we were conveyed to the hospital. both of us suffered several cuts and abrasions all over our body. we were discharged after 4 hours or so. wasted so much time but i am grateful that we made it without any very serious injuries. it was the drivers fault and he also admitted that its his mistake. now i am just afraid that he will roti prata and twist the story. hope he is a man of his words.

ride safe guys. that pretty much sums up my dramatic day.

Class 3: 29/05/2009

Class 2B : 11/06/2009

Class 2A : 22/03/2011

Class 2 : 07/12/2012

Gilera Runner ST200 - 18/06/2009 - 31/05/2011

Suzuki DRZ400SM - 31/05/2011 - 22/03/13

Yamaha FZ6S - 25/03/13 - ???????

Life is like a penis.

It's short, but seems so long when it gets harder.

yesterday as i was riding along amk ave 5 with my gf as my pillion we got into an accident. i was heading straight while approaching the cross junction and amk ave 4 and 5. a honda civic turned right on the opposite side of the junction without even stopping and check, thus i collided onto the rear left side of his car. i was going at around 50km/hr but still wasnt able to stop in time. the accident just happened so quickly the next thing i know i was already lying on the road. i quickly got up and check on her condition. she was still conscious but suffered cuts on her legs arm and her chin. i was upset at the same time was very pissed off so i approached the driver whom continue to turn right and park at road side. i shouted at him and told him to call the ambulance while i return to attend to my gf who was bleeding on her lips and chin. my heart sank. many passer by and motorist came over and help us out. really own them a big thank you. as this is my first accident i wasnt very sure abt what to do. i exchange particulars with the driver however during that moment in shock i forgot to take picture of the scene and find ppl to be my witness. ambulance arrived after around 10-15 mins and we were conveyed to the hospital. both of us suffered several cuts and abrasions all over our body. we were discharged after 4 hours or so. wasted so much time but i am grateful that we made it without any very serious injuries. it was the drivers fault and he also admitted that its his mistake. now i am just afraid that he will roti prata and twist the story. hope he is a man of his words.

alot of times i got into this kind of situation too. drivers just ignoring blind spots and proceed as if i have to stop for them. yea I will if the car or truck behind me will. if not then....

here's a scenario. u are at a stop light waiting for the green. U are at the front, behind you is a bus queuing. the light turns green, you know how heavy the traffic is, so take a sec to look out abit then you slowly proceed. as you approach the end of the junction, a car suddenly appears on your left filtering without stopping as to give way. you are already on your 3rd gear which is around 25km going to 30?...so how should you approach this situation. ebrake hoping the bus to also brake. or lane change right then proceed doing it as fast as you can risking yourself hoping cars to give way to your "manuevere"...

If i'm not wrong most cross junction have those camera mounted at the top of the traffic light ( for accident purposes ) can ask TP to reviews those tapes .

Anyway you were conveyed to the hospital by ambulance no TP arrive at the scene to help out ?

the tp came after i was conveyed to the hospital i think. was inform by an investigation officer that my bike is with them later on.

Class 3: 29/05/2009

Class 2B : 11/06/2009

Class 2A : 22/03/2011

Class 2 : 07/12/2012

Gilera Runner ST200 - 18/06/2009 - 31/05/2011

Suzuki DRZ400SM - 31/05/2011 - 22/03/13

Yamaha FZ6S - 25/03/13 - ???????

Life is like a penis.

It's short, but seems so long when it gets harder.

cockster drivers who love to hog on bloody 1st lane..

flashed them, but they simply bo chup... honk at them, and guess what they do..

test-brake you... mutha-farkers...

wish u all e best with your ins claim. hope the driver dont play punk as you have no witness and no photos. sincerely hope u will get your fair share of the claim :)

boring rider. with a boring bike.

too old to want to appear interesting anymore.

Do pay extra attention when you approach "yellow box", vehicle do turn in from adjacent direction.

We must adopt sensitive mind, suspecting each and every vehicle on the road, prepare to slow down as and when needed, patience, give way and ZERO ego on the road.

At the end of the day, the most satisfying part would be arriving the destination safely.

Do pay extra attention when you approach "yellow box", vehicle do turn in from adjacent direction.

We must adopt sensitive mind, suspecting each and every vehicle on the road, prepare to slow down as and when needed, patience, give way and ZERO ego on the road.

At the end of the day, the most satisfying part would be arriving the destination safely.

Very true words!

TP escort convoy on expressway = unusually smooth traffic up ahead..

but it also mean mayhem behind the escort convoy..

Guys and Girls (especially), please don't jaywalk during a busy peak period. i got into slow speed skid yesterday evening because i had to avoid one idiotic lady who stepped in front of my riding causing me to jam brake and lock my rear wheels.

Thankfully i didn't hit her nor other vehicles around me. Thanks also to the driver of the white Hyundai i30 who helped carry my bike up.

Guys and Girls (especially), please don't jaywalk during a busy peak period. i got into slow speed skid yesterday evening because i had to avoid one idiotic lady who stepped in front of my riding causing me to jam brake and lock my rear wheels.

Thankfully i didn't hit her nor other vehicles around me. Thanks also to the driver of the white Hyundai i30 who helped carry my bike up.

Slow down, most pedestrian have this mentality that vehicle will give way to them. Do give them a light horn, warn them about your presence. Be prepare to react especially if there's children playing around.

Is is a old version Vios? The driver wear specs?? Some Vios was edging me on the 1st lane too...I was in the 1st lane on the PIE and its quite wide, while going into a corner, I was nearer the line and he sped up and tried to force me to go into 2nd lane. I horn him and looked at his briefly and he still accelerated, one mistake by me or him would result in me having a serious accident. I was exiting Bukit Batok and slow down to let him pass...What a idiot !

Smooth traffic at 70kph on the BKE southbound about to turn into PIE under the ERP gantry, some Toyota Vios driver was "lanesplitting" between Lane 1 and 2. What happened was he was travelling on Lane 1 and changed to Lane 2 without signalling or checking blind spot and when he realised there was a bike on Lane 2 he decided to force me out of lane after realising he was driving between the lanes. Hit my right pannier. ALL traffic slowed down.

I stopped right in front of him and told him not to deliberately attack motorcycles. Pointed out example that all the other lighter bikes passing by have -no- protection to collisions = possibility of immediate injury or death. Want to become a murderer? Hinted that he almost did become one.

Said I will not claim or make reports but... Don't threaten motorcycles with your car.

After the confrontation I went to the road shoulder to double check for damages and saw 2 LTA officers and their YBRs parked there. They were totally busy photgraphing vehicles passing by the ERP gantry and didn't give a **** to the above incident. Asked me to "go report police lah".

Wtf. Wonder what would happen if a J-plate get killed right in front of them.

Im so sorry to hear about your mishap and i wish the both of you speedy recovery.

If i may, i'd like to offer you some tips.

- Junctions: Personally for me, no matter if im going straight or turning, i will definitely slow down significantly before approaching a junction. Any junctions - T, Cross, Staggered, Etc.

- Helmets: Get a fullface. Chins are 'landing zones' in most falls. Proper gear ATGATT is also recommended and that is for a new forum thread altogether.

- Pillion: As riders, we need to be responsible for educating our pillions. Proper gear applies to them too! Not just us. Also teaching them how to bank left/right etc. I am in no way pin pointing at you and your partner, because you have your own riding preference/styles, i hope you don't get me wrong as my intent is for the general audience. As for me, i have a no pillion policy.

Hope the both of you are recovering well and cheer up. Life is good. :)

Is is a old version Vios? The driver wear specs?? Some Vios was edging me on the 1st lane too...I was in the 1st lane on the PIE and its quite wide, while going into a corner, I was nearer the line and he sped up and tried to force me to go into 2nd lane. I horn him and looked at his briefly and he still accelerated, one mistake by me or him would result in me having a serious accident. I was exiting Bukit Batok and slow down to let him pass...What a idiot !

Silver older-model Vios (I think it's 2004 model car but quite recent plate), driver was indeed wearing specs and is dark skinned, small stature about 1.6-1.7m in height. I think you encountered the same driver!

Anyway there's no "right solution" to such encounters, horning doesn't work, confronting is a waste of time, just use the bike's agility to avoid and overtake. These really impatient drivers somehow look HAPPY when they successfully cut people, but in their overconfidence start to slow down and in turn are easily overtaken. Move up the line 2-3 cars and they're no threat again.

Being a rider/driver I know that impatience/aggression means immediate moves and reactions are improved, but at the expense of driving strategy. I.e., drivers like our dear example here can 'cut' very well but sometimes cut until they get stuck between heavy vehicles or a whole group of road hogs. Permanently stuck. LOL.

Monitor these *******s in the mirror and record down plate number if they do more silly things.

Just got a very nice HD camera that can power up and start recording in less than 1 second, mounted behind a DIY clear windshield all for 'insurance purposes'.

---

On a less grave note - fun things happen when riding late-night convoys, can't find any food and 'desperate measures' are in force:

http://farm6.static.flickr.com/5229/5623360512_d820259741_z.jpg

Microwave oven for what? Use engine heat :D

This is @Shunpo's bike. Very nicely customised and tuned Phantom.

Edited by Pandora's Kitten :3

Some additional tips:

Things to take note when buying bike:

1. Compare the insurance prices

2. Compare the parts availability and waiting time

3. The shops/mechanics that can repair the bike

4. Resale value of the bikes

5. Sitting posture for rider & pillion

Need to run in the engine first during the required running-in period after overhaul, change the engine oil n oil filter at required intervals, you can feel the surge of power once the engine has been broken in, then can wack the bike.

Bikes manufactured recent yrs have higher tolerance level thus seldom have the need for overhaul.

Improper modification of bikes might caused pre-mature damaged/spoilt thus having the need to overhaul and replaced faulty components.

Wat to look out for if you feel vibration when riding.

1. Wheel bearings

2. Steering cone bearing

3. Fork oil (Time to service fork)

4. Check for loose chain or worn-out sprockets

5. Rear shocks too soft (Time to change the shocks or rebuild them)

6. Check tire pressure.

Improper use of engine braking might cause more harm cos of the excessive over-drive of the engine might cause the rear wheel to overspin, another factor is the rear wheel will over-drive the engine thus stressing the engine tat might cause pre mature damages.

was riding to work last nite at KPE via ECP. i was travelling arnd 80++km/h on the first lane and then there was this honda civic following so close to me that i cud see his bloody dog face in my DRZ stock mirror.so i filter to the left and thinking that he wud speed up and go but he followed me changed lane also...alamak i tell u guys in my heart i was really like just wanna stop aside open up his car door and slap him so hard like i never slap b4 sia...while exiting kpe tunnel i sped up to take the corner guess what he was following me too wat if i skid thats the end of me sia....walao eh brudder im just a harmless rider sia its not like im tryna race with u or wat.use ur brain la. imagine its ur father or son riding that bike wud u do the same? u ASS...hahaha sorry for the vulgarities cant take it anymore ar...

near miss on 3 occasions some time back, all in 1 day.

1) (major road, little traffic) van driver decided the 1 car length space between me and car ahead was big enough for him, and SQUEEZED in. i braked slightly, and got out of his way (behind him). i then show him the :thumb: sign, indicating "you good, no one can win you ald.". but he show me a "wtf?!" hand sign instead.

i proceeded to change to lane 1 and carried on, changing into lane 2 after some time. MA LA EH ZAI! he qionged lane3-lane2-lane3-lane2 just to confront me with a "you bodoh arh?!"... :faint: after that i relac jack dun bother abt him and carry on..

this kinda xiao2-ji1 (hokkien for crazy-chicken), better dun provoke, he will meet his match sooner or later. since im not paid to be his match, relac jack save own life first.

i cant help but wonder what the heck did i do to this man? even if i were going slow, it's bcoz of the vehicles in front of us - cannot be his iq so low until he doesn't realise that? or his wife had an affair with a biker?

come to think of it, i should have just relac jack right from the start and not show him the :thumb: sign. :lol:

i noticed his van has multiple dents, so maybe he was out trying to "confront ppl for a living".

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

2) was travelling in lane 3 relac jack @ 70kph (major road), SUDDENLY, 1 car QIONG-ed from lane 1 to beside me, and still pressed in dangerously, barely 15cm from me ald..

i got a shock and lanesplitted to filter lane (no way out ald).

he slowed for a moment and i signalled right to indicate to him i actually wanna go right.. :faint:

***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** ***** *****

3) thereafter, 1 car decided to change lane from lane 2 to lane 1, while we were turning through a x-junction. i got a shock in lane 1 and lanesplitted to lane 0.1 while the hero QIONG-ed ahead..

CLEARLY, bikers need to refresh our basics, work on our safety, and IT"S ALL OUR FAULT. MAKE SENSE WHAT.