[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

• Replies 7.2k

I dun care brands. Only care Fully Synthetic, Semi Synthetic or Mineral. I use Fully Syn.

Good brands (Expensive but Good?) are MOTUL and MAXIMA from wad i know.

I was wondering: if you put a car in first gear and release the clutch (slowly), the car will roll on forever without throttle, driven by the idling engine. Can it be done with bikes in particular the Phantom? I tried but the bike slowed down until the engine stalled. Are bikes designed as such?

I just came back from Planet. I went to change my tyres and it was discovered that the rear brake was stuck. I don't know what it is called, it is the pump like thing between the pedal and calipers. I guess that answers this question too.

In any case I believe idling speed can be changed. I do not know any benefits of doing so though.

i think my chain is abit too loose, is there anyway i can tighten it myself?.. i keep hearing tak tak tak sound wen i am on low gear, such as wen i slow down and down shift

u can check the service manual on how to tighten this, or u can just bring it down to any mech, they can do it for free for you. just a 1-2 mins job.

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

f.zi

did you change your rear brake plate yet ?

hey! thanks for reminding. havent change yet, im pushing it to the limit. but ill get it change soon when i go for my next service and when i get some money!

dark mode, or light mode?

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v241/one8tytwo/125ziblack.jpg

125zi

does planet motor have unwanted or 2nd hand motor parts for sale?

http://picturesky.com/albums/userpics/12854/Ghost_Rider_Inked_by_Robot666.jpg

you. guilty.

oh ok. but what's the difference whether it's fully syn and semi syn.

Fully syn is when oil is totally produced in a lad setting. It is the highest quality and it does not breaks/loose quality so easily. In cars it can last for 10000 km but then the cars have oil filters while phantoms have not

Good brands are ussually those classified as fully esther (don't know what it is)

Brands: any Amsoil, Maxima Mobil

Semy synth is a cocktail of some additives and mineral oil.

There are some advertisers in the forum who do give a good info about oils.

I tried both. Mineral was Caltex 20W-50 a smooth one, then was Legolas brand (we all know what race Legolas was -hint pointy ears) a real bad one don't try it. Really.

Then was Mobil 1 5W-50 of course good and to get it cheap buy it bulk and DIY.

Do try and see how the gear changing respond.

A tip from metal was to try all the gears at high revving. (what happened did his huge lunged lady get sick)

Personally I tried them on hot days.

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

does planet motor have unwanted or 2nd hand motor parts for sale?

It has second hand parts, it does not have unwanted ones, otherwise he would throw and not clutter his shop.:cheeky: :D

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

what brand of engine oil do u guys use for ta200.

i'm quite brand conscious after trying a couple of brands. my vote goes to 1. Motul 2. ELF 3. Maxima. personal preference

i only use fully Syn. i find that fully Syn smoother and last longer before becoming kopi O, so its pretty much same price as semi.

jB is right to mention viscosity. go for max 20, min 40 for phantom. eg 10w50 is good. 20w40 is average..

erm i getting phantom soon anyone can give me advice like what to look out for ?

and how to know the engine good or not

erm i getting phantom soon anyone can give me advice like what to look out for ?

and how to know the engine good or not

You may start reading this thread from page 1.. Slowly read it like a book. Lots of information shared by members here :thumb:

I have the best signature.

You may start reading this thread from page 1.. Slowly read it like a book. Lots of information shared by members here :thumb:

dido that man.

A bike is not smth bought overnight.

Some occasional jokes about plates and bras will make the read lighter as well as informative.

Asking a single question will give only a single answer, so better dig the encyclopaedia.

"They" still do URALS

i think it's ridiculous to go through 110 pages to find something that was answered, albeit a long time ago.

Tedious, I will agree with. Ridiculous I think not. Especially for such a vague question as what was asked. Reading through was basically what I did before getting a phantom for my first bike and it not only answered my questions but provided me with important insight. Well you may skip over the chatting bits but its like teaching a newbie 2 years worth of head knowledge from an experienced phantom rider. Of course we may debate head knowledge over experience but some head knowledge is better than no head knowledge.

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

Going thru 110 pages is better than going thru 110 'topics' with sub discussion.

That's how the forum work I guess.

I usually zoom into a thread and use CTL + F to look for "TEXT" I want to find.

Hope this helps.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

I guess yas did answer his question and gave him an advise on what more answers for his un-asked questions to read thru the 100 odd pages like a manual ;)

Tedious, I will agree with. Ridiculous I think not. Especially for such a vague question as what was asked. Reading through was basically what I did before getting a phantom for my first bike and it not only answered my questions but provided me with important insight. Well you may skip over the chatting bits but its like teaching a newbie 2 years worth of head knowledge from an experienced phantom rider. Of course we may debate head knowledge over experience but some head knowledge is better than no head knowledge.

Going thru 110 pages is better than going thru 110 'topics' with sub discussion.

That's how the forum work I guess.

I usually zoom into a thread and use CTL + F to look for "TEXT" I want to find.

Hope this helps.

I guess yas did answer his question and gave him an advise on what more answers for his un-asked questions to read thru the 100 odd pages like a manual ;)

let me reply all at one go.

I dun say it's cannot be done, but look, threads get started and closed after one post. New people come and look for solutions. Then they get referred to a thread with 110 pages and to go through slowly. Am not saying it's cannot be done, but i think it's getting more and more ridiculous shutting them off and referring them to the "Thick Newbie thread" and going through all the stuff.

This thing is happening, has happened, and by experience, it will happen again and again.

You want them to be independant, find out the answers from a mess. Of cos, I dun deny that what you find after hardwork can probably last you for quite a lifetime, but so can I when i click on the search button and instead of showing me 100 posts that was quoted with the same word, it brings me to a stickied thread with questions that's always being asked again and again and again.

I think the more popular "TOPICS" can be threaded independently and stickied + locked, so that they dun grow thick.

And i highly regards topics with sub-discussions due more to the active members instead, and in the end they clump together and provide for the additional thickness of a thick enough thread.

And of cos, there's always the option of "You can dun come here if you are so unhappy", but note that that doesn't solve anything if this forum becomes unhelpful, ya? And stuff like "He also sells carrot" in a bike thread. Not helpful.

Anyway, browsed to Used Bike Section, and saw this thread.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186915

It's a good headsup thread, something like a read first before starting thread.

Better to educate the new people before rather than only until after they start a thread and it get's closed and referred to the thick thread.

And i highly regards topics with sub-discussions due more to the active members instead, and in the end they clump together and provide for the additional thickness of a thick enough thread.

Anyway, browsed to Used Bike Section, and saw this thread.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186915

It's a good headsup thread, something like a read first before starting thread.

There you have it ;) I've the same thought in mine about Palmer's organisation of things. Thats how the way S4 riders are doing it and its very good:box:

Well it's a fix position. Every new thread is indeed a wasted opportunity for keeping the info in one place.

For e.g. one comes in asks bulb blown how? so good answers and of course not so good will be given. In a while the thread goes dead and so does the info.

Yet the questions for newbies thread is truthfully too long. With everyone giving his penny in know-how and even Unneccesary comments such as "I have no comment" (then why bother write) have expanded the thread to a scary volume.

Out of it I would say only 20-30% is useful.

thus a newbs will be dragging his mind to a pile of rubbish to find some answers

I aggree with lunloon that putting newbs off with "go do your home work" it sucks. Yet newbs should be informed that coming and ask "want to buy a bike , How can help a not" will get them answers like the above one.

I believe forum should be fun and for all to join, but of course the users should use some common sense and responsibility. After all we are at least above legal age for riding license.

In my opinion AGAIN there should be more stickies which are closed to users so that it does not thickens.

Why not the mod locks for eg. the manual thread.

Every time some one will pop in and say- "please email the manual at #^&[email protected]" and then will find Click here Click here click here" in A4 format.

I hardly find any of the old guys including lunloon. Hamsterwhale, madman, metalfyre are not dropping by coz every single one has become a teacher with "been there done that":P kind of comments.

Thank God Kiam still offers what he knows about phantom, kmax still searches for us who did not bother, but in not so long I guess they will fed up and cut off.

Suggest that mods do some clean-up, or even ask for help to clean up and members do show some restrain coz even though the words are free, they carry some weight.

It's a good discussion so let everyone pitch in

"They" still do URALS

I think the more popular "TOPICS" can be threaded independently and stickied + locked, so that they dun grow thick.

IMHO...May I suggest a potential change to the organization tree of the PK thread. We have 3 sub-directories under the main PK heading catergorize into technical, chi-chat, and outings.

Phantom Knight Directory

Sticky:

1. Posting Etiquette for Newbies http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186915

2. Newbies Guide to Bikes

3. Phantom Buy and Sell Thread

4. Introduce Yourself Here

Sub-Directories

1. Technical Matter and DIY

a. Sticky: TA200 Manual

b. Sticky: Typical Prices for Repairs and Mods

c. Sticky: Phantom Cosmetic Upgrade

d. Sticky: (Possible) Guide to Basic DIY on your Bike Step by Step Picture Guide

- This forum allows for troubleshooting request regarding technical problems.

-This forum educates on DIY and the potential preformance and cosmetic modifications to the bike.

2. ChitChat (Self-explainatory)

3. Outings and Tours

-This forum displays an organized list of events and outings that are currently open or close. One quick glance summarizes the current events.

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have only been on the forums for slightly more then a month, so my experience and exposure to the content within the threads are limited. Those with more experience.. kindly chip in with improvements to the above format or alternatively, you can choose to flame it. :lol:

It's is our forum. And we have the influence to effect change and make it more accessible to newcomers and better organized for the rest of the community. If you like the way it is and don't see a need for change, thats ok. If you think we can improve it in some way, lets do it.