[Archived - 2009] PK Official- Questions for Newbie

halo to all!! i'm hong sing; want to buy a phantom & need some comman, which motorbike shop is better for me to buy a new phantom?

i have go to many shops but all got different price... find 2 shops that the price +/- $300, 1 is I-motoring at bukit merah & motor sport at ubi; which 1 service better??

thanks!!!

• Replies 7.2k

eh, i neber say been there done that hor... wahaha...

i only suggest he ask his questions in the existing newbie thread or something, if not, everytime someone has a question, will just post a new thread asking this and that, by that time, think here will be bombed with new threads everyday.

I dun wish to see new threads like "Does madman sell accessories' "Who is pinkphantom.com", "Where can I find madman"... all these can be in one thread, such as phantom cosmetic upgrade thread.

Anyway, who is the wiseman change the tittle from mods and accessories to cosmetic upgrade one huh? Own up...hehee... I chia you lim kopi.

halo to all!! i'm hong sing; want to buy a phantom & need some comman, which motorbike shop is better for me to buy a new phantom?

i have go to many shops but all got different price... find 2 shops that the price +/- $300, 1 is I-motoring at bukit merah & motor sport at ubi; which 1 service better??

thanks!!!

anyone bought bike from these 2 shops? anyway, getting a new bike you need to consider certain factors other than pricing.

1) You will "lose" money when you buy a new bike. Consider whether you are willing to lose that thousand or thousands for using it 2 yrs or so.

2) $300 different from different shops is one thing, but if shop A sells you $300 more, but got excellent aftersales service, then I suggest buy from them.

3) $300 cheaper maybe only the surface. If you are paying by installments, did you consider how much and what's the difference the end figure will be from the 2 shops? The one that sells $300 more, might cause more in the end due to higher interest.

4) If you intend to mod the bike (hehee), then getting a 2nd hand bike is a better option.

5) Ohter factors, let the others write...that's all i can think of now.

well i am riding sp now but the engine like not really good condition that why i changing to phantom and wan tip from the existing phantom rider about choose phantom =/

sorry if it really trouble u =/

I think the more popular "TOPICS" can be threaded independently and stickied + locked, so that they dun grow thick.

And i highly regards topics with sub-discussions due more to the active members instead, and in the end they clump together and provide for the additional thickness of a thick enough thread.

And of cos, there's always the option of "You can dun come here if you are so unhappy", but note that that doesn't solve anything if this forum becomes unhelpful, ya? And stuff like "He also sells carrot" in a bike thread. Not helpful.

Anyway, browsed to Used Bike Section, and saw this thread.

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=186915

It's a good headsup thread, something like a read first before starting thread.

There you have it ;) I've the same thought in mine about Palmer's organisation of things. Thats how the way S4 riders are doing it and its very good:box:

I aggree with lunloon that putting newbs off with "go do your home work" it sucks. Yet newbs should be informed that coming and ask "want to buy a bike , How can help a not" will get them answers like the above one.

I believe forum should be fun and for all to join, but of course the users should use some common sense and responsibility. After all we are at least above legal age for riding license.

In my opinion AGAIN there should be more stickies which are closed to users so that it does not thickens.

IMHO...May I suggest a potential change to the organization tree of the PK thread. We have 3 sub-directories under the main PK heading catergorize into technical, chi-chat, and outings.

Upz la so we have our volunteers for the "Lets Re-Organize PK Forum" project? :angel:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

anyone bought bike from these 2 shops? anyway, getting a new bike you need to consider certain factors other than pricing.

1) You will "lose" money when you buy a new bike. Consider whether you are willing to lose that thousand or thousands for using it 2 yrs or so.

2) $300 different from different shops is one thing, but if shop A sells you $300 more, but got excellent aftersales service, then I suggest buy from them.

3) $300 cheaper maybe only the surface. If you are paying by installments, did you consider how much and what's the difference the end figure will be from the 2 shops? The one that sells $300 more, might cause more in the end due to higher interest.

4) If you intend to mod the bike (hehee), then getting a 2nd hand bike is a better option.

5) Ohter factors, let the others write...that's all i can think of now.

yo!! thanks bro, anyone can help more, thanks a lot!!

If you are buying cash is always much cheaper, coz you are paying an owner who probably changed tyres, batery, chain and what not.

Shops don't bother, they only clean and tell you "it's in good condition"

*Buying in cash it saves on insurance coz you have the choice of third party

*Buying in credit you are forced to take first party which could be as high 50% of the bike's price.

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

Sticky:

- Phantom Buy / Sell Thread 2008

- Newbie Guides to Bikes

- Introduce Yourself Here

- Sales and Mass Order Rules & Regulations

Sub Directories:

- Northern Knights or The KNIGHTs -> Where people organise trips to meet up, go pump petrol, supper, roundings etc. The Clinic can post their meetup date and schedule here too...

- Typical prices for Phantom Repairs. (Modifications can ask in Madman Thread) -> Chain and Spockets how much arh?

- Madman Phantom Cosmetic Upgrades Corner. -> Make your bike bling bling!! :cheer:

- The KNIGHTs Official Chit Chat Corner. -> All Come In And Mingle Around!!!

- The KNIGHTs Official Who / What You Saw Just Now. -> Wah Lau!! TP Saw Me La...

- The KNIGHTs Accidents, Thefts Related & Traffic Offence. -> I Accident liao what to do? I wake up my bike gone... how? :cry: Cruising at 100km on small road will get summon meh?

- The KNIGHTs Help!!! My Phantom Broke Down / Got Problem!! -> "My bike got tiak tiak sound?" "Broke down at Marina?" Ask here!

- The KNIGHTs Newbie Questions. -> What is Phantom??

hi all, juz wondering if it is possible to repaint the rear box.. the box on my bike was handed down from the last owner and i guess is about 6y/o. It has already gone a lot i guess. Anyway to restore it?

I am also looking for a pair of side box any recommendation or sec hand?

hi all, juz wondering if it is possible to repaint the rear box.. the box on my bike was handed down from the last owner and i guess is about 6y/o. It has already gone a lot i guess. Anyway to restore it?

Should have no problem repainting.

Look for second hand in Garage Sales.

Looks like it time for new "MODS" to do housekeeping.

Heh heh heh

Hands up!!!

Opps! It's not robbery...

It's who wanna volunteer.

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

if matte plastic can try to restore with those plastic restorer products... not sure if effective or not though...

2nd hand can try GS thread as lawbah suggested, or go bike shops ask ask, or scrap yard also can... :)

Heh heh heh

Hands up!!!

Hi Sir, i volunteer if you need any help. Just let me know. :)

Sticky:

- Phantom Buy / Sell Thread 2008

- Newbie Guides to Bikes

- Introduce Yourself Here

- Sales and Mass Order Rules & Regulations

Sub Directories:

- Northern Knights or The KNIGHTs -> Where people organise trips to meet up, go pump petrol, supper, roundings etc. The Clinic can post their meetup date and schedule here too...

- Typical prices for Phantom Repairs. (Modifications can ask in Madman Thread) -> Chain and Spockets how much arh?

- Madman Phantom Cosmetic Upgrades Corner. -> Make your bike bling bling!! :cheer:

- The KNIGHTs Official Chit Chat Corner. -> All Come In And Mingle Around!!!

- The KNIGHTs Official Who / What You Saw Just Now. -> Wah Lau!! TP Saw Me La...

- The KNIGHTs Accidents, Thefts Related & Traffic Offence. -> I Accident liao what to do? I wake up my bike gone... how? :cry: Cruising at 100km on small road will get summon meh?

- The KNIGHTs Help!!! My Phantom Broke Down / Got Problem!! -> "My bike got tiak tiak sound?" "Broke down at Marina?" Ask here!

- The KNIGHTs Newbie Questions. -> What is Phantom??

Heh heh heh

Hands up!!!

Actually, there was PK directory in sticky with useful threads linked up, organized by kiamh..

most of the points "lawbah" mentioned are already covered..

dont know where it goes now... cant search again :(

You don't call me sir, coz I bet I am as young as you.

What's your age? 25? me 24. You 22? Me 21.

I'll take note of your volunteer and let the administrator know of your interest.

If approve, you'll get the bullet proof vest.

But it's not guarantee it'll able to protect you from those bullet hits.

Wear it at your own risk.

Hi Sir, i volunteer if you need any help. Just let me know. :)

Women will never be as successful as men because they have no wives to advise them.

You don't call me sir, coz I bet I am as young as you.

What's your age? 25? me 24. You 22? Me 21.

I'll take note of your volunteer and let the administrator know of your interest.

If approve, you'll get the bullet proof vest.

But it's not guarantee it'll able to protect you from those bullet hits.

Wear it at your own risk.

Ehhh omg... ok boss... i dont call you sir hahaha btw im 24... :) Thanks and let me know if i can be of help!

I also dun mind helping out in re-organizing. Just may be lacking in phantom know how and probably still considered a newbie.. :cry:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

okie okie... don't post here already..

PM to me and I'll submit to admin for aproval.

No need to be a know all to be mod. Mod are human after all.

submitted lawbah request a few minutes already. If you have come a bit early, I can do it both together.

Anyway, it's Fri... Gonna be busy riding day ar... get back to you maybe Mon okie.

I also dun mind helping out in re-organizing. Just may be lacking in phantom know how and probably still considered a newbie.. :cry:

Another noobie question, every morning when i try to start my bike, normally by turning on with my key and pressing the start engine button on my right handle, i can't get it to start, is this what people call cold start?

I tried many times and it doesn't start, my friend told me push the button and at the same time throttle slightly to give it some power, it also doesn't work. i have to pull out the choke, then push the start engine button and then it will work. Is this normal?

My bike is new and i just got it for 1 week. Do i really have to use the choke everytime i start in the morning? Will the prolong use of the choke cause any side effects to my bike? Pls advice. thanks! :sweat:

its normal for bikes to be like that some cold can't start just pull the choke and press the start button. or you can go down to the shop and set you carburetor idle speed to be higher no need to worry about your bike bro its healthy:cheer:

Class2B>TP on 22 May -Passed

Class 3>TP on 11 March -Passed

Class 2A>? start by 2009 may 22

Class 4>? start by 2009

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=92543&d=1235736836

I enjoy DIY:cheeky: always can reached 98475561/kwanheng"Jason"

I aggree with lunloon that putting newbs off with "go do your home work" it sucks. Yet newbs should be informed that coming and ask "want to buy a bike , How can help a not" will get them answers like the above one.

Precisely. Question was too general.

At least MrIce here asked in this thread... Can you count the number of people comin in and asking questions in new threads, and then disappear?

Upz for those who are volunteering. I liked the forum in 2007, hope nothing drastic will happen, yet beneficial :thumb:

I have the best signature.

i ask on new thread before then someone ask me come here ask =.= :sian:

i just wan to know when buy bike from shop need to take note of which part on the bike

suspension ?

engine ?

front fork ?

so and so

but how ?

i buying by credit

but i can get 3rd party insurance

i ask on new thread before then someone ask me come here ask =.= :sian:

i just wan to know when buy bike from shop need to take note of which part on the bike

suspension ?

engine ?

front fork ?

so and so

but how ?

i buying by credit

but i can get 3rd party insurance

When buying a bike it maust have all of the above and if it has a so and so you cant go wrong :cheeky:

Seriously when u buy a bike first look at your self and what type you like and riding experence. If you are 5ft... 45kg you arent going to buy a super bike are you .........Then if buying a second hand bike what i would look for is signs of rust this will tell u more abut how a bike has been treated ....stored outside or undercover...... When buying from a shop it should be well serviced so mechanical stuff wont be a big worry.

MrIce

It's not a bad idea to read this

http://www.singaporebikes.com/forums/showthread.php?t=91678

It's only 3 pages and it's very concise. Pity the "owner" doesn't drop by anymore

We are simply quoting the same read

P.S. Don't worry bro you are always welcomed to ask. (Bike related that is)

I just love the looks, feel and sound of an old good Guzzi, though it has been around since the time of my Grandfather. I guess "they" don't do things like that anymore! Well it's not true.

"They" still do URALS

When buying from a shop it should be well serviced so mechanical stuff wont be a big worry.

That is not necessarily true. Don't bet any $$ on it.