who said ah chong dont test ride tall bikes..

http://sphotos.ak.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ak-snc3/hs378.snc3/24175_1433186747361_1163693440_31287141_342598_n.jpg

yeah who said that? nv heard of that rumour before.. :cheeky:

• Replies 3.9k

today at planet... the whole evening as changing rear brake disc which i bought online.

really hard work, as OEM disc and screws are hold by loctite. they tried until 2 allen keys broke.. :D

and changed brake pad to suit new disc.. ah chong charge me only brake pad price :cheers:

You must be the TDM rider when i came to send my hyper miler GSR for top service. I remembered ah chong was ready to fire up the torch to cut the allen bolts. :)

use the wrong tool...i am surprise that the shop does not have an impact driver.

hmmm... they definitely have that... I just used it on monday...

55th Time at Planet

26/04/2010

05:10pm

Went to Planet because my Phantom's right signal lights weren't working.

I got 2 bulbs from Ah Chong and Troubleshoot on my own.

But cannot find the problem, even after replacing the bulbs! Ah Chong took a look, and said wire snap or wire loose. So I gave him back the bulbs and went home.

But before going, I asked if he has a replacement for a mikuni fuel pump of my DR as it is kinda of old and might need to be replaced later, Ah Chong lend me a Honda one to go home and try. Total cost today $0.

Tomorrow I am going to trace the wire of the Phantom signal light and check out the fuel pump, should be a fun project. :D

56th Time at Planet !

30/04/2010

01:05pm

Weather: Sunny

mood: Not hungry

Went back to Planet after troubleshooting the wiring problem.

The sian part is that after dismantling the entire headlight asssembly to unreveal the wires inside the electrical conduit and finding the wire that was causing the RIGHT front signal light to fail, I accidentally snapped the LEFT front signal light's wires while reassembling back everything! So after all the work, I still ended up with only 3 signal lights that work, although it's the different side now. DUH! :slapforehead:

And it snapped at the point near the soldering, inside the signal light. So even if I brought the signal light home to solder, I will probably melt the plastic and rubber parts inside. :cry:

At Planet, I explained the situation to Ah Chong, and asked to buy a signal light from Ah Chong, and you know what?

He said no need to buy, "I give you" and asked me to help myself to the signal lights from a TA150 that was to be scrap the next day. (YAY!!! FREE signal light :clap:)

The poor Phantom Ta150 was in quite good shape too.

Sad to see a good bike like that go to waste. :(

So I went ahead and dismantled the signal light and took out the required part with the wiring and D.I.Y fitted it into the signal light assembly on my bike at Planet. :)

After that I refitted the signal light cover back onto the TA150. Ah Chong didn't charge me a single cent even when I borrowed a screw driver from him. :D And even said "You are the best liao" When he saw me unscrewing the parts to get at the wiring inside the signal lights. I actually think Ah Chong is the best liao :)

When I was there, the was a yellow CBR that also had electrical problems, and the owner asked if can come back tomorrow. Tomorrow labour day leh! :D

Guess the fellow must be working too hard, because he was in shirt and tie when he was there.

Edited by Silent Hunter

use the wrong tool...i am surprise that the shop does not have an impact driver.

em, i wonder why ? :confused:

You must be the TDM rider when i came to send my hyper miler GSR for top service. I remembered ah chong was ready to fire up the torch to cut the allen bolts. :)

yessir, next time say "helo" ah, met a few AT riders that day..

Lol OWS iridium plug?

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

how much do you think ahchong will charge me if i bring my brakepad there to ask himinstall for me? (i bought it from thailand)

Yep... But it did last me 60000km mileage

you are lucky.. some cannot fish out.. :thumb:

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

how much do you think ahchong will charge me if i bring my brakepad there to ask himinstall for me? (i bought it from thailand)

i'd reckon you do it with other service.. as in oil change or such..

mostly they will do for free..

He also dun really like to install items not bought from his shop... =x

some customers might think ah chong is super niao and bastid and want to earn more business that's why he doesn't like to install items not bought at planet.

but his actual intention is the opposite. other shops sell the same thing at a higher price. sometimes i compare ... other shops' sale price = planet's normal price :dot:

so he is actually trying to help you save some money by buying it off him. where to find this kind of towkay in this day and age? i always call planet "黑店" in front of his face but it really is the "white-est" one around. :thumb:

so is it good or bad? cos i want to fix it the last time around but was thinking..

nono.. ows... not a good brand.. go to planet and see their demos.. they have undo alot of ows spark plugs that jammed on your block..

haha.. of cuz lah.. sometimes, the products is lower quality and damage your stuff den you go there and repair.. he will KPKB abit de ma.. haha...

some customers might think ah chong is super niao and bastid and want to earn more business that's why he doesn't like to install items not bought at planet.

but his actual intention is the opposite. other shops sell the same thing at a higher price. sometimes i compare ... other shops' sale price = planet's normal price :dot:

so he is actually trying to help you save some money by buying it off him. where to find this kind of towkay in this day and age? i always call planet "黑店" in front of his face but it really is the "white-est" one around. :thumb:

lolx.. true.. white-est.. i fully agreed.. But.. add in one more point.. white-est + longest waiting time!!! haha... can wait from morning til night de.. nearly same like JB liaoz.. but.. they closed at 9pm!! that's a good thing.. JB closed at 5am!! that's a crazy thing.. lolx... you can't wait til 5am.. and got jammed along the way, it's definitely crazy..

Please proceed to this website/web link if you guys have any technical issues on Kawasaki Kips/KR150, I'll update the 1st POST as and when there's a new question. Newbies questions on the top as well. :)

Well, well...i was at planet some months back and heard about spark plugs broken inside the engines.

What I heard are the 2 brands that broke inside are not the usual NGK and DENSO ones...

Well, for bike essentials, I do not choose any brands other than these 2.

A plug cost is extremely minimal compared to a engine.

so is it good or bad? cos i want to fix it the last time around but was thinking..

Wont recommend it. Fixed them 3 years ago when there is no such issue.

Also not easy to remove the broken part. The mechanic tried at least half an hr, almost gave up. :sweat:

Yep... But it did last me 60000km mileage

The denso, ngk ones can also :D. Heck the normal $5 ones also can... if you dun mind degrading performance :angel:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4109/4974036153_c36bbcded6.jpg

Life isn't all about one's self...

57th/58th Time at Planet

03/05/2010

07:35pm

weather:Fair

mood: Very very angry! :angry:

Don't know whether can be counted because I went there at night because the STUPID Tow truck driver that Ah Chong recommended forgotten to call me for the key before towing away my DR800, even after I specifically told him to do so to get the key. :angry:

So I had to make a special trip down to Planet just to hand over the ignition key because from tomorrow onwards whole of next week not in SG!!!!

But the best part is the Tow Truck guy didn't apologise Si BEi arrogant. And worse was that it was after I did him a favor by following his request to NOT LOCKING the handle bar lock so that it is easier for him.

And I cancelled my plans for the day, to stay home waiting specially for him when he said he may be an hour late. :angry:

Luckily Ah Chong very nice said he will keep the shop open for me, and told me not to rush.

From now on, I will always PURPOSELY handle bar lock + rear disk lock the bike as well as chain to a post the bike I ask to be towed from now on, so that the bike will not be sent to the shop without the key.

COME ON! How can the shop test to see if the bike can start or not without the key? Use your brain can or not?!!? And it's not as if I didn't spell it out over the phone. If really no brain to use, can at least use your ears can or not? Don't even feel like paying for the tow truck fee! :angry:

So I recommend everyone to lock your handle bar lock unless you don't need the bike to be started after repairs.

One week later after coming back to SG.

12/05/2010

03:10pm

weather: Warm

mood: Bad mood (but because of other reasons.:()

Went to Planet to check on my DR800 Ah Chong said the carb still got problem. After trouble shooting, the starting ok already, he washed the carb, now cannot start again! :faint:

Anyway on the way to Planet, my Phantom's fuse blew! Luckily I was near Defu lane so I walked there to a bike shop at Defu lane in the rain to buy a 15V fuse from a bike shop there then DIY fix onto my Phantom.

When I was at Planet, (rain stopped liao) I told Ah Chong that I am buying 2 x 15V fuse from him, because there might be a short circuit and that when I press the front brake during neutral, the green neutral gear light goes off. When I told Ah Chong of this weird problem, he told me to remove the seat, and presto! Can immediately see the wires that was clamped by the seat and part of the insulation was worn off, exposing the copper wires! So DIY Black tape.

Then..... ..... rear brake no light!!!! :eek:

Ah Chong help to dismantle the red rear brake light cover, and checked the light bulb. It was ok! So it must have been the spring's tension. I adjusted the tension myself and solved it. :)

Ah Chong didn't charge me a single cent, not even for the 2 fuses! Definately going back to Planet! :clap:

(by the way the shop at Defu charged me 50 cents for 1 fuse.)

When I was there I saw PureIce, he was there to change air filter for his Phantom.

Ah Chong charged him $50 for the filter, then said next 3 times come to change filter no need to pay! :lol: Si Bei corny! :lol:

Edited by Silent Hunter

Today went down to ubi, and since i was in the area decided to pay ah chong a visit to get a bar to attach in between my 2 side boxes to prevent them from flapping.

I asked ah chong for a piece of "chou tie" (smelly metal) but he said sorry don't have.... only have "xiang tie" (nice smelling metal).... :lol:

So he gave me a long bar with screw thread throughout similar to the one on debbie's FAZER, and i asked him how much he said free!!! Then i asked him what drink he want. he said no need.... whoa take the bar and run!!!! ahhahahha!

Then as i was leaving got one fat guy on a phantom want to come up the ramp as i was backing my bike out from the shop, then refuse to give way leh.... don't want to move!! Also dono what that guy mumbling thru his full face helmet.... so i no choice, accelerate back up the ramp to ah chong's shop and let the guy thru....

So i backed out my bike successfully this time and overheard the conversation between the fat guy and ah chong.

Fat guy, "I want to service my bike.... fast fast, i in a hurry."

And then ah chong look at him and shout "FAST LAN JIAO LA!!!!"

HAHHAHAHAHHA!! Classic ah chong!! I buay tahan just laugh out loud... and when the fat guy was servicing the bike he didn't even bother to get off the bike while changing EO!! Wow he really must have been in a big fat hurry!! :cheeky:

he helped to install rear brake disc which i bought from ebay :angel: