hey deux.. wat i do is i let the vehicle pass me.. then i stick to the car's blindspot and remain there thruout the journey..the driver always gets irritated and will turn his head and see where i am. hahaha.. but then..end of the day i realised that no use playing with cars..coz some of them are really stupid and tend to do crazy stunts not caring for ur life. and some stupid cars(excluding the supercars) actually think they can outrun bikes.. wat asses!

haha..u might get urself killed bro!!! :faint:

• Replies 134

hey deux.. wat i do is i let the vehicle pass me.. then i stick to the car's blindspot and remain there thruout the journey..the driver always gets irritated and will turn his head and see where i am. hahaha.. but then..end of the day i realised that no use playing with cars..coz some of them are really stupid and tend to do crazy stunts not caring for ur life. and some stupid cars(excluding the supercars) actually think they can outrun bikes.. wat asses!

Yo Batman, wassup.

I don't bother with cars. Heh. If I can't outrun them, I outsqueeze them. :p

I am a newbie rider. So, I still don't dare to squeeze in between lanes. Not so skilled like you guys mah...

So what I do to shake off tailgaters is to tap my front brake intermittently (just enough to activate the lights, but not slow down).

I really don't know whether this is the right way... Or should I squeeze? I don't know... but it works for me so far...

Most of the time, I just let cars pass by me and enjoy the ride! :)

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

yeah this i agree...

i was like come on , chose yr lane...

Ahaha..Precisely..Countless times I let a bigger vehicle overtake me before a bend just so that I can negotiate the bend safer but somehow becoz of how fast the other bigger vehicle was movin..It either have to slow down or worst makin a bend in between lanes..If it was a bike it won't matter as there will be ample space to overtake..But a bigger 4 wheeled or more vehicle? I don't think so..And its not safe to try to overtake it..So just suck thumb and have to slow down even more..

Some drivers are either blind or what that they prefer to travel on the dotted lines (in between lanes) when the other lanes are empty..Always witnessed this durin the we hours of the mornin..Don't they realise they're not the only road users even at that time?

the worst is those who drove in next and slightly in front of u and sped into a bend but could not handle the speed n then SPILL INTO YOUR LANE RIGHT IN FRONT OF U! :angry:

next time i sure want to drive a dirty rusty beat up old truck.. then paint on the tail-board.. I have claimed insurance on 99 tail-gaters. Are you the 100th? :cheeky:

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

2007 - Bajaj Pulsar :D

Need to BARTER or SELL off used or new items? rollingeggs.com

they dunoe bikes cannot slow down much when turning ley.. sighzzz... :dot:

next time i sure want to drive a dirty rusty beat up old truck.. then paint on the tail-board.. I have claimed insurance on 99 tail-gaters. Are you the 100th? :cheeky:

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

the worst is those who drove in next and slightly in front of u and sped into a bend but could not handle the speed n then SPILL INTO YOUR LANE RIGHT IN FRONT OF U! :angry:

Umm... especially taxis! They are always doing wide turning! Must watch out for them!

Well, what I do when approaching a bend is to slow down to a reasonable speed so that in the event that the vehicle (car/van/etc...) overtakes me suddenly, I will have ample time to react.

But yes, you are right. They don't actually understand that we can't slow down too much.

Biking is something that everyone can learn and enjoy! :goodluck:

http://i426.photobucket.com/albums/pp344/s4dreamer/Laos%20n%20Cambodia%20Trip%2011%20to%2028%20May%202009/Poipet-Cambodia1.jpg

I am a newbie rider. So, I still don't dare to squeeze in between lanes. Not so skilled like you guys mah...

So what I do to shake off tailgaters is to tap my front brake intermittently (just enough to activate the lights, but not slow down).

I really don't know whether this is the right way... Or should I squeeze? I don't know... but it works for me so far...

Most of the time, I just let cars pass by me and enjoy the ride! :)

What you feel is the best method will be the best for you, basically what you're most comfortable with. Different people will tell you different methods of shaking off tailgators or methods of riding in this forum. Whats best for you, in my opinion, is what you are most comfortable with. The method may change with time, but the comfort with the method could be a good yardstick. :p

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Personally, I meet these type of riders everyday. They hog when they are squeezing lanes, they hog when they are on expressway, they hog when they can go to a slower lane..

sorry may i ask wat you mean by hog when squeezing land?? den wat kind of speed den is not hogging lei?? :sweat:

Rot In Hell!!

I think he means to give way once another rider is behind you. Once the rider catches up with you, it means you're hogging? Usually i will find gaps in the cars and move in to let the rider pass, and then follow behind him, even if bikes are confined to playing "follow the leader" in a long single file. Sometimes... the bugger actually helps me dig for a path. :cheeky:

P-plate should be an attitude to safety and riding. There's always more to learn.

10417710_10152885054228332_2597706433133321618_n.jpg?oh=a3e4c65165b15e5d659161c304211563&oe=54FB0965

Yo Batman, wassup.

I don't bother with cars. Heh. If I can't outrun them, I outsqueeze them. :p

yoz how udoing? .. HAHA..

ya i also like to outsqueeze them but sometimes tiring to always speed..so i stick to their blindspot andof course anticipate things instead of getting myself in a possible accident or wat. after irritating them.. just go off is better la..well..anyway thats my method. :p

hmm.. me threadstarter.. o_O but me not hogging.. im sure those who were in my situation understood me. was overtaking on 1st lane cud not get back to 2nd lane.. anyway i dun mean 1st lane only.. other lanes also experienced this mah.. dun label me snail crawling on 1st lane ley.. :pity:

You are posting rubbish...if you are riding a bike which can't go faster or you can't ride a bike fast then you SHOULD NOT BE OVERTAKING ON 1st LANE!...you should just stick to your original 2nd lane which suits you well.

And by posting more nonsense you say you 'can't get back to 2nd lane'...which means 2 things : eithier you can't ride fast enough to clear the traffic on the 2nd lane to return ahead of the rest on that lane or you are purposely hogging the 1st lane!..or even worse, you are so afraid to filter back to the 2nd lane BECOS YOUR RIDING SUCKS BIG TIME!

So bottomline, you are indeed a trouble making rider!

So stick to your slower lane AND KEEP IN THAT LANE PLEASE!

You are posting rubbish...if you are riding a bike which can't go faster or you can't ride a bike fast then you SHOULD NOT BE OVERTAKING ON 1st LANE!...you should just stick to your original 2nd lane which suits you well.

And by posting more nonsense you say you 'can't get back to 2nd lane'...which means 2 things : eithier you can't ride fast enough to clear the traffic on the 2nd lane to return ahead of the rest on that lane or you are purposely hogging the 1st lane!..or even worse, you are so afraid to filter back to the 2nd lane BECOS YOUR RIDING SUCKS BIG TIME!

I dun really know what your problem is.. but the topic is: how do u shake off tail-gaters, not only on 1st lane but other lanes as well. Not how fast your bike can go or how fast you dare to ride.. so if you cant read simple English, keep your dumb comments to yourself! and yes, if you can filter away to the next lane without scaring the other driver who is so near to u then good for u.. COS i believe that is just how u believe it is so when the other driver's heart might have popped up to his throat. YEAH.. i SUCK, so what.. I dun frighten other road users as u do and gives bikers this BAD NAME of weaving in n out of traffic inconsiderately.

2003-04 - Phantom TA 150

2006-06 - NSR 125

2006-07 - X9 180

i ever clutch in n rev at this cub kia in front of me cos he hogging.. after he let me pass, he chased me all the way...

haha...even this thread also can end up in arguments.. let the show begin!!

Well if i at outer right lane taxi tail gate me i go more slow for example i go 100km/h i go ard 80 or lesser.

Only for taxi they too Fcuk up already.

Got 1 time in front jam still tail gate so close to me then horn me somemore i more angry i go like 65 - 70 km/hr to piss him off

But for other cars i sure lane change to 2nd lane.

Unless those in considerate drivers i dont let them pass

I don't think the problem lies with howfast your vehicle or his vehicle is..The courteous proper way is to slow down when someone has already signalled indicatin the intentions to overtake..Not to speed up or keep up with the person tryin to overtake..Doesn't the drivin centres ever taught this simple etiquette?

I dunno how courteous or appropriate it is to say someone's ridin other than yours sucks big time..To you his ridin may suck but to other riders' your ridin may also suck..So these comments are greatly appreciated if you keep it to yourself..We're in no way here to judge who rides the best..What is the best anyway? We're here to exchange pointers and at the same time make new ridin friends..

FYI my ridin sucks so care to share some pointers how to take the "suck" away from my ridin? Thanks..

For me, it's decision-making made easy

If can overtake, overtake.

If cannot overtake, make a switch to the left lane, let tailgater pass.

If cannot overtake, and Mr-Driver-on-crack refuses to back-off (pun intended), I show him what I'm worth.

Super 4s have no problem shaking off tailgater.

2b bikes does have a problem. It's advicable to get a min 2a bike for safety reasons, last time i ride phantom 200, thats why i know.

Bike underpower, ride like a fish in wet weather, brakes also not powerful and always kenna tailgate by taxi/bmw/mercs/mazda/toyota/nissans/honda/lorry/bus/super 4s/R1/GSXR1000/ZX10R/CBR1000RR/R6/CBR600RR/ZX6R/u name it, u get it.... haizzz

super4 can shake off R1/GSXR1000/ZX10R/CBR1000RR/R6/CBR600RR/ZX6R ???

u sure?

for me,

if someone tailgate me. i shift to the next available lane, and let him pass.

THEN..

IF..

it is safe, i will overtake him, signal and filter into his lane.

when he start to close up again, i signal, check blindspot and filter to next lane again.

and let him pass.

then, i overtake him again, of course in a safe manner. i signal, check blindspot and filter into his lane again.

once he close up again..

and change lane away from him again.

i repeat, and repeat and repeat, until i sian.

the point that im trying to get across to the driver is that,

no matter how fast you are going, i can always go faster than you.

then once he is pissed off and try to go faster, you signal, check blindspot, filter to next lane, stay there, and let him pass you. let him speed..

den i smile to myself, and say a little prayer hoping for Mr TP to be camping somehwere further up the road..

disclaimer: this is onli if you want to irritate back the driver. if not, change lane, stay there and let him pass. this is the best option.

Yamaha. Yg mahal. Yg maha. Mcm paham.

btw,

in response to the question of the topic 'how to shake off a tailgater..'

in my opinion, you can't really shake off a tailgater. tailgating is an inconsiderate way of driving. if the driver is already inconsiderate, do you really think he will give a f*** even if u tap u brake light or anythign. yes he might back off for a while when u tap brakes or on hazard light. but i'll bet that he'll come back tailgating again after a while.

so best bet if to shift away and let him pass.

BUT, if you're the aggressive type.. hahah.. 1001 ways to piss off that driver man...

just to share and experience..

i was tailgated by a taxi on the highway and when i filtered out of the highway he happen to be heading for the same exit as i was. he kept tailgating me even up till an approaching bend. being young and hotblooded that time.. during that bend, i turned by body ard, looked straight at the driver and gestured to him that he was too close but he bochap me, so i damn dulan and then i gestured him to bang me if he dared. he was less than a motorbike's length away from me. the driver not happy, gestured back at me and tried to catch up. then my middle finger fly while i sped up and brake, sped up and brake all the while gesturing to the drive to catch up with me if he can.. after that i sian, then i flip one last middle finger and went off. he cannot catch me mah. in front jam, i squeeze..

thinking back, that was a very reckless, dangerous and foolish thing to do. now im much more sensible, though sometimes i go crazy with anger and still do stupid things.. but its a rare occurance..

so once a tailgator, always a tailgator. its an attitude problem. there's nothing much we can do against these pple. they themselves need to acknowledge that they have these problems and change their habits.

till then, we riders just practise good defensive riding habits and TRY to keep our cool on the road.

afterall, we ride because we enjoy riding. no point getting angry over incidents like this.

Yamaha. Yg mahal. Yg maha. Mcm paham.

think the best way to shake off a tailgater is to go to the road shoulder and park ur bike and wait..see if he wanna follow suit and come to the road shoulder. :p